My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

…WAS OFFERED A POSITION AS HEAD LIBRARIAN AT WESTWOOD COLLEGE?!?!?!

WHAT?!?!?!?!?!?!?!

That’s right, guys.

It finally happened.

Finally, finally, finally, finally, finally, finally, finally, finally, finally, finally, finally, finally, finally, finally, finally, finally happened.

Finally.

After a very long, lonnnng three years of job hunting/searching/applying and interviews. After many, mannnnnnny rejection letters, emails and phone calls. After a *bushel and a handbag of almosts, so-close’s and no’s….I did it!

*Sidebar (Is that still a phrase people use? If not, I’m henceforth bringing it back! Is henceforth still a word people use? If not, do it people. Any word that in any way resembles these guys is my favorite word ever.)

No matter how frustrated I got, how much I wanted to throw in the towel and give up, I kept trying. I kept putting myself out there.

But most importantly, I kept praying.

I don’t always know what the big guy upstairs has up his sleeve for me. In fact, I never do. None of us are privy to that information. But I think it’s better that way. It gives us something to hope for, something to strive for, something to keep our faith steadfast and true. Whatever His plans for you and I are and/or will be, I know that they will be amazing. And they will happen on His time, not mine or yours (something I have struggled with for pretty much always. And probably will continue to struggle with.) But if I have learned anything through this experience, it’s to never, ever give up hope and never, ever stop believing. And know that things happen when at just the right time they are supposed to.

HOLY REESE’S PEANUT BUTTER CUPS, SUPERMAN!

I’M A LIBRARIAN!!!!!! 🙂

If I could give any piece of advice–which as a librarian, I would like to think it’s my business to do so–it would be to not be afraid to dream. Dream big and dream loud. Do everything you can to make that dream a reality, even if it takes a very lonnnnnng time, if you get mannnnnny rejection letters, emails and phone calls and especially after you receive a *bushel and a handbag of almosts, so-close’s and no’s.

Do. Not. Give. Up.

Sorry Nike, but in this case, I am urging you to just NOT do it.

Keep doing, trying, and most importantly….

….keep praying.

Comments on: "Do you remember that time I…" (9)

  1. AAAAAA!!!!!!!! I am so incredibly pleased for you!!!! well deserved and the best job ever!

    now you need to get a wheely ladder and practice singing the songs from beauty and the Beast haha!

    Im so chufffed! well done xxx

  2. Yay!! Congratulations! This is amazing news for you 🙂 Best of luck to you!
    I will do a Happy Dance in your honour 🙂

  3. Congrats, Wendi! 🙂

  4. So Awesome! Congratulations on the job! So exciting!

Leave a comment