My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

140207_2724227_Coffee_Talk_anvver_5

Well hey, guys!

What’s shaking?

How are thangs?

What’s new and good?

I feel like it’s been forever and a day since we’ve chatted! Probably because it has. Granted most of that is my fault. Okay, all of that is my fault. Life has been super crazy applesauce lately, but the best kind of super crazy applesauce (think chunky with a hint of cinnamon). My blog has fallen by the wayside as a result, and it’s high time that I changed that. Since it has been a hot minute since we’ve chatted, I decided we should make like Mike Myers ala Linda Richman and cawwfee tawwk it out, catch up on all things life.

Grab your favorite cup ‘o joe, a few package of Oreos and a comfy seat. It’s Cawwfee Tawwk time!

If we were having coffee today, I would tell you that I am LOVING my job. Like, unbelievably, positively, still-can’t-wrap-my-head-around-the-fact-that-I-got-so-lucky love. Sometimes things happen in your life when you least expect them, when you most need them. This is perfect example, y’all. I wake up everyday excited to go into the office, almost annoyingly so. I can confidently say that I’ve never experienced that before. It’s weird and strange and beautiful all at the same time. I get to do something different everyday, working with people who inspire me, push me, and make me snort laugh on the regular. I really couldn’t ask for more, and am excited to see where this new and exciting journey takes me next.

For anyone who is going through a career change, or is struggling to find that ‘dream’ job, hang in there. I’ve been in your shoes on more than one occasion, and while it does suck in the moment, it does get better. I promise. Hold onto that hope, fight like hell and don’t ever, ever diminish those dreams of yours. Go after them full force.

If we were having coffee today, I would tell you that it is coming up on my four year moversary. Four years since I decided to take one giant leap of faith, pack up my little Bug and drive across the country. Four years that I have called Colorado home. Four years that have given me endless adventures, joy, tacos, laughter, tacos, fun, tacos, incredibly amazing friendships and did I mention tacos? I am continually falling more and more in love with this beautiful state, for the countless moments that take my breath away, and for that I will truly and forever be grateful.

If we were having coffee today, I would tell you that I am still very much single and ready to Pringle. And I’ve finally come to the realization that that’s okay. You hear that, grandma?! It’s okay!! As a late-twenty-something, almost thirty-something adulting adult, there is this sort of stigma and pressure, a pressure to have an SO, settle down, get married and start a family with a bunch of kiddos. Like, yesterday. Do I want that? Absolutely, I do! But do I think that there is a set time that this all should take place? A deadline that has to be met? Not in the slightest. I’m incredibly excited for all of this happen, and am looking forward to when I find that person, my person, who wants to do all of these things with me, a person who matches my crazy awesomeness. But in the meantime, I am okay. Okay with being single. Okay with waiting for that reach for the stars, laugh until it hurts, best friend and partner-in-crime kind of love. Whenever that may happen. And you should be too.

If we were having coffee today, I would tell you that life as of late has been, in general, pretty kickass. Sure, there have been some ups and downs, some bumps in the road (including one that completely destroyed by car’s oil pan–and bank account) and some unexpected twists and turns.  It’s those very things however, the challenges and struggles and moments of questioning that, as cliche as it sounds (and it’s very, very cliche), make you stronger, wiser and ready to tackle anything. They are also the things that make you appreciate the good, the great, the wonderful–everything that makes your soul smile with abandon.

If we were having coffee today, I would tell you that there is so much to look forward to (for me, it’s a long list full of road trips, family/friend visits, half-marathons, baseball games, summer nights spent with great friends, hikes, camping trips, and the biggest butter burger and frozen custard you can imagine from bae aka Culver’s I’m planning on picking up for din-din tonight—among other things), so much to hope for, some much to believe in. Sometimes the little things–grabbing beers with a friend, summer nights spent at the ballpark, a good book, belly laugh and a hug from someone you love–these little things actually mean the world. It’s so easy to get caught up in the stresses of work, the worries and problems clouding our minds that we forget to take in every minute, every second of these little blessings.

If we were having coffee today, I would tell you (in my best Linda Richman voice) to do something this week that you’ve been putting off, something that you’ve been afraid of, something that excites you, something that you will thank me for later.

In the form of tacos, preferably.

QOTD: What would you tell me if we were having coffee today?

Comments on: "Life Update: Cawwfee Tawwk Edition" (3)

  1. If we were having coffee today, I would say that I’ve missed your posts. (Glad to hear that things are awesome for you!) And I’d let you know that you’ve inspired me to finally get back in the blogging world after putting it off for so long. This is selfish of me to ask but don’t disappear again for too long. I love reading your posts.

  2. Congratulations on the new job! (Apologies, you’ll have so many notifications from me because I’m just catching up on your blog.) I’m really happy that you’re loving it!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

