My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

anigif_enhanced-buzz-12149-1375473314-5_preview

This morning as I was walking into work, in a rush like always, I biffed it on the sidewalk. Like, hands flailing, all the four letter words spewing, coffee mug in the air biff action. I wish I could say it was because I was side-stepping a massive sink hole, or maybe that an Adam Sandler look-a-like came out of nowhere with a stick ala Big Daddy and sent me falling face forward, but no. It was all on me. See I have this thing where I sometimes fail to pick up my feet when walking. It’s a real problem, guys.

After brushing myself off, and taking a quick glance to make sure that no one and their mother’s sister’s cat saw me and my wicked air time, I noticed that my pants were now covered in my Mocha Latte. Not only was my left leg now drenched in coffee, my life-line of caffeine was now down to mere sips.

Ugh. The Mondayest Tuesday ever.

I could’ve let this little BREWhaha (I couldn’t resist) ruin the rest of my day, but when I looked down at my leg again, I saw that the residue from the coffee spillage weirdly made the perfect Harry Potter-esque lightning bolt on my thigh. And hey, smelling like a walking Starbucks air freshener couldn’t be the worst thing in the world, right?

As I made the rest of my trek into my office, I realized that this is my mindset for almost everything. I see my glass of chocolate milk as half full, my Ray Bans are always rose-colored and that silver lining is fully present and accounted for.

I recognize the reality, and am not naive by any means, but I prefer to see and find and focus on the good. The good in people, in situations, in times where hope is low and giving up is high. Yes, I’m the weird person who has RHF (Resting Happy Face) and is actually a fan of all of those Pinteresty inspirational quotes you see all over the interwebs. I’m a firm believer that happiness is contagious, and if I can spread that ish like wild fire, you bet your coffee-stained bottoms that’s what I’m going to do, dammit!

Being eternally optimistic is kind of my MO, y’all.

Here are just some of the signs that you—like me—are an eternal optimist:

  1. You have an indestructible belief that people are good.

    You’re way more Locke than Hobbes (high school level history class anyone?!). It’s this feeling you just can’t fight, like shimmying a tiny bit when “Shake It Off” comes on. You might not always like people, because sometimes they suck, but you believe everybody has some good at the core. You gooey pile of love, you.

  2. You practice forgiveness, even when people don’t deserve it

    Don’t get me wrong, you can get angry as hell. You’re fully capable of going all Carrie Underwood and smashing in car headlights (or maybe just fantasizing about it instead because you know, legal action and all that), but you also forgive. It’s not that you don’t still hurt, but you also realize you can’t control the actions of others, and it’s easier to move forward without harboring resentment.

  3. You assume someone will return your lost belongings

    Did you leave your phone behind at the restaurant? Your ID mysteriously missing after a night out? You’re not panicked just yet. The idea that someone would steal something rarely enters your mind. People never steal. Ever. You never find your stuff again? No. It wasn’t stolen. It just…has been permanently misplaced.

  4. You think everyone has a secret optimist inside

    …not someone hiding an actual optimist in a basement somewhere, but rather you just think everyone has a soft side to them. Even those hardened individuals who love to show off their tough exterior. You know there’s more. YOU SHALL FIND IT. A Sherlock Holmes for emotion, if you will.

  5. You get ahead of yourself in relationships

    You try not to. You seriously try not to. But…it just kind of happens. You have been guilty of listening to a Spotify playlist called “Falling In Love” way too soon. Like 4 dates in soon. Oops.

  6. You always tell people to follow their dreams

    You encourage everyone to pursue their passions, no matter how cheesy and borderline nauseating it might be. You want to be an astronaut? YOU GO GET IN THAT SPACE SHIP! You want to be a world-renowned surgeon? GO CUT SOME PEOPLE UP!!!! You can do it. We believe.

  7. You’re quick to give someone a second chance

    You’re not a pushover. You’re not weak. You’re not foolish. You just are willing to give things another shot. That’s pretty beautiful, actually. YOU GO GLEN COCO! You give those chances!

 

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to finish online shopping for a new pair of leggings. Helloooo wicked awesome clearance sales. Hey! Another silver lining. 🙂

 

 

Comments on: "I like my chocolate milk shaken, not stirred. And in a glass half full!" (8)

  1. I wish so much that I could be more like you. I try, I really try to see the best in a situation. And for the most part I really do believe that people are good. But sometimes life really can get in the way of this whole optimism thing. I need to take a page from your book. Life is just so much better when you’re spreading happiness.

    • Aw!!! Thanks, darling! But sometimes, life is just sucky. And it’s okay not to look on the bright sire of things. Or be happy. It’s taken me a long while to realize that I can feel any sort of negative emotion. Because not doing that is as unhealthy as not being optimistic at all. It’s all about balance.

  2. Yes!!! I tell everyone I’m Pollyanna–there is always something to be glad about!

  3. […] things when he is frustrated?…. yeah, I’m feeling that way this week.  My friend, This, That, and the Other Thang wrote an optimistic blog that made me feel a little more uplifted… but I’m still […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

