My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

charlie-brown-lucy

My name’s Wendi, and I am a strong, independent and intelligent 28 (almost 29) year-old woman. I know how to change my own oil, can bake the shiznit out of some chocolate-chip cookies and even have my own 401K.

Impressive, I know.

I’d like to think that I’m somewhat of a fully-functioning adult, most of the time, however there’s one thing that I still find myself doing pretty much on the regular, one thing that I probably will never stop doing no matter how old I get, or how much fully-functioning adult experience I put behind me…

…and that’s going to the moms for advice.

I’m extremely lucky in that my mom and I have always had the strongest of relationships (think Thor-level strength here). She has always been my rock, my inspiration, the person I would go to first whenever I had a problem or a big decision to make. From first day of school outfits and how major hair transformations (THANK YOU FOR TALKING ME OFF THAT PERM LEDGE!!) to college choices and major job opportunities, my mom has been there with me through it all. She has been the voice of reason, of wisdom when I needed it the most.

It wasn’t until recently that I realized how much I still rely on me madre for things.

The past week alone I’ve called/texted her in a sweaty panic, asking her what she thinks I should do about:

Brewtus–the best VW Bug a girl could ever ask for–who’s sadly on it’s last legs. Should I try and sell her? Trade her in? And what kind of car should I look at getting? How much should I look at spending? Can I take out a loan? I hear you, but I am NOT getting a Subaru. 

My living situation: Should I move at the end of my lease? Into another apartment? And where? Or should I just bite the bullet and start looking to finance my first house?

That sore throat/cough/swollen ankle/weird rash on my neck: Is it contagious? Do you think I should go into the walk-in? AM I DYING??!! So what you’re saying is I shouldn’t WebMD it?

Boys: First date, what should I wear??!! Should I text him that I had a good time afterwards? Or should I just wait for him to text me? Well, things were going great! But then he just stopped texting me. I’m being ghosted aren’t I? What’s ghosting? I’lll explain it later. He ate his pizza with a fork anyway. Yes, thank you! He was a giant boob!

General adulting: Yogurt that’s 3 days past its expiration is still safe to eat, right? Huh, coconut oil works on that? So about that fitted sheet sitch…

I may be a 28 (soon to be 29) year-old strong, independent and intelligent woman, but I still very much appreciate advice from the moms. And I don’t think I will ever stop appreciating it.

Mom, if you’re reading this, thank you! A million times thank you!

*And I will call you later. My stomach is seriously turning cartwheels and I think it may have been because of that yogurt.

 

Comments on: "But first, let me ask the moms" (2)

  1. Aww this was really cute. You’re very lucky to have such a great relationship with your mom.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

