My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

beach,cool,happiness,photography-8fd419a1ed0e99f92530ba9018554ad6_h

Well hey guys! And a very happy #InternationalDayofHappiness to you! It seems that everyday there is something new and tbh, somewhat random thing to celebrate (can I get a what-what for National Peanut Butter Day or the ever awesome National Wear Mismatched Socks Day–I’d like to think “they”, whoever they are, came up with that day just to benefit my laziness, and to them, I tip my hat and say a giant THANK YOU). Most of these so-called holidays are up there on the silly scale for sure, leading some to ask why there’s a need to dedicate a day out of the year to honor something as seemingly insignificant as peanut butter or socks.

Which btw, is silly in and of itself because PB is the glue the holds my life together. Basically. And don’t even get me started with cute socks, mismatched or not. The obsession is very real, y’all.

I totally understand where these naysayers are coming from. I do. But to me, if one of these rando celebrations allows someone to feel good, to give them something to look forward to, to put a smile on their face and a pep in their step, then bring on the party! Especially if there will be cookies involved. Any reason to let your fabulous and zany flag fly is reason enough for me.

International Day of Happiness is high on the list of my favorite of these “holidays” because of what it stands for, of what it represents. Plus, the whole day is based around the idea of celebrating and sharing what makes you happy, which as you know, is kind of my jam. In 2012, the UN created International Day of Happiness to not only help bring people from all over the world together, educating and bringing awareness to different cultures and traditions, but to also highlight what it is that makes us truly happy.

The truth is, happiness is a very fluid construct and emotion. It can mean many things to many people, take on varying forms and be expressed in a multitude of ways. One person’s happiness may not be the same as someone else’s. The one thing that is universal across the board however, is that happiness is something that everyone, no matter background, age, color,  gender, race, status or baseball team affiliation (except St. Louis Cardinals fans. KIDDING! But not really) should have, should be free to express. As the UN states and tries to perpetuate through their nonprofit organization Illien, “Happiness is a fundamental human right and goal, and every person on this planet should experience it not only on this special day, but throughout year.”

Agreed, Illien. So hardcore agreed.

There is nothing more in the whole entire planet universe that makes me happier, gives me more joy–with the exception of freshly baked cookies and puppy kisses–than making others feel good, in spreading that happiness and paying it forward. I’ve been told that I can be annoyingly happy at times, and I definitely could see how and why my friends and family think that. I’m a milkshake is half-full kind of gal, I prefer to see the positive in every situation, to see the good in people. This isn’t to say I’m not realistic, or naive, or a pushover (okay, I sometimes can be), but I’ve learned in my almost 29 years that a) life is way too short to harbor and focus on the negative, to be a Debbie Downer all of the time and not give situations or people the benefit of the doubt and b) happiness is very contagious my friends. It’s hard not to feel good when you surround yourself with people who exude this kick-ass light about them.

Ya dig?

I hope that whatever you are doing today, tomorrow, next month or five years from now, that you are continually finding ways to up your happiness game and, that you are sharing that happiness with others.

I don’t know about you, but this girl has A LOT to be happy about: my amazing family, Oreos, my incredibly incredible friends, Oreos, the fact that Brewers baseball season starts in less than 15 days, Oreos, and SO. MUCH. MORE.

Geto Boys may have let us all know that “Damn, it feels good to be a gangsta,” but I’m here to tell you that DAMN! It feels good to be happy!

Comments on: "International Day of Happiness" (6)

  1. I really needed to read this today. This weekend has just been a big ball grossness and it’s just been one hit after the next. It’s nice to be reminded that there is always SOMETHING to be happy about. Thanks for the reminder! 🙂

    • Oh no, girl! I’m so sorry your day was so crappy. I’ve definitely been there before and it’s always nice to be reminded that even though things may seem like a big ball of grossness, it’s only fleeting. There is always something to be happy about, especially when that something involves wine and/or cookies. 😉

      Hope your Monday was 100,000x better, love!

  2. I always love visiting your blog – you succeed at spreading the joy! Hope you’ve had a lovely week x

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

