My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

1622278_10100826021534872_3471549618596848502_n

Y’all, tomorrow is THE day. I’ve got a big interview. HUGE. And tbh, I’m already nervous sweating glistening. Of course I’m excited and confident and super prepared, but I still can’t help but get a serious case of the butterflies pterodactyls. Like, hardcore flapping and moving and grooving in there. Although a part of that may just be the fact I haven’t eaten lunch yet. The interview is for a children’s librarian position at a public library here in Denver, aka pretty much the dream job, which makes the pressure even more thick.

The good news is that I’ve definitely had my fare share of interviews–over 30 in the last two years alone–and I’ve pretty much got the process down to a science. A very weird and crazy science, but a science that works.

My boy Bill Nye can probably back me up on this.

From phone interviews, Skype sessions and the tres important in-person interviews, here are just a few tried and true ways that have helped me, and which will hopefully help you, prep like a boss:

1. A little positive self-reflection. You is kind. You is smart. You is important. You is are also intelligent and creative and funny and savvy and the sharpest crayon in the box. Before you can convince any potential employer that you’re the one for the job, you have to convince probably the most important person first: yourself. Go into your interview balls ‘a blazing, full-throttle, pedal-to-the-medal. You got this, boo.

2. Lucky Undies. Confession time: there are two pairs of lucky skivies that I’ve had probably since pre-college. They’ve helped me get through many an exam, presentation, Brewer’s playoff game and even a few first dates. I’m not superstitious (only a little stitious), but for some reason these Care-Bear underoos give me a secret little pep in my step. Huh, maybe that was Victoria’s Secret all along…

3. Psych Yourself Up. Whenever I’m getting ready for a big night out (on those rare occasions when I’m not Netflix and Chilling with my cats), on a run or getting ready for a softball game, there is always major tunage involved. There is just something about music, the right kind of music, that can set the tone and get your blood pumping. My top three go-tos:

Survivor’s Eye of the Tiger

Eminems’ Lose Yourself

Def Leppard’s Put Some Sugar On Me

4. Practice Makes Perfect: Cliché central over here, but it really is true. Going into anything prepared will only help you feel more comfortable and confident about your performance. Try to anticipate the questions that will be asked, prepare versions of the answers to these questions, as well as questions you want to ask the employer. For my interview I was asked to create a children’s storytime outline and present the actual storytime to the hiring committee (not even a little bit awkward giving a presentation to a bunch of grown adults that’s really meant for a 3-4 year old audience). And while not all interviews will involve reading Eric Carle’s The Hungry Caterpillar (with an accompanying puppet show), it’s important to spend some time practicing your interview technique.

5. Do Your Research. And I’m not talking about mapping out the prime lunch spots near the office or Facebook/LinkedIn-stalking your potential new hot co-workers (but that doesn’t hurt). Get to know the company, it’s values, the work environment. Prove to your maybe-new boss that you’re invested, interested and that you know your shiznit.

6. Pick Out the Perfect Interview Outfit. My dad always told me, “Dress for the job you want, not the job you have.” As much as it kills me, physically pains me to wear a business coat and fancy heels, sometimes a girl has to do what a girl has to do. Will I be dressed like this everyday, working with kids and boogers and finger paint and boogers and fruit punch juice boxes and just all of the boogers? Proooooobbbbaly not. But first impressions are crucial, guys.  Think of it as a promising first date. You wouldn’t wear sweats and a t-shirt meeting the potential love of your life, would you? Okay, maybe I would but…

untitled

7. Smile. It looks good on you. 🙂 Plus, no one wants a Debbie Downer working for them. Act like you actually want the job you’re interviewing for. Smile, have a firm handshake, and make eye contact. Above all else, have fun. Interviews are or can be a stressball of a thing. It’s important to remember to have fun, and enjoy yourself!

Tomorrow’s the day, guys! Am I nervous? Hells to the yes. But am I ready to go in and kill this thing? Abso-froggin-lutely! With a smidge of Sugar, a little luck[y underwear], and a lot of hope, this interview won’t know what hit it.

 QOTD: What do you do to help get you prepared for an interview?

What’s more nerve-wracking? A promising first date, or a job interview?

 

 

Comments on: "How to Interview Prep Like a Boss" (8)

  1. Ahhh so excited for you! I’m gonna be super cliche now as well, but if you just be yourself, there is no way they won’t love you. You’d make an awesome children’s librarian so I hope they can see that.

    Great advice all around. It’s also really important to have a few questions prepared. I’ve never been on an interview where they didn’t ask me if I have any questions. It’s so bad to say no. So when you do your research, it’s always great to come up with some questions that could expand on things you learned about the company. It shows that you know a little about the company and are interested in learning more. Also, just make sure you stand out. I actually sang on my last interview and I truly believe that’s what helped me get the job. They were interviewing so many people so I had to stand out a bit as the girl who sang the “Pete the Cat” song.

    Good luck again girl! I am so so soooo excited for you!!! 🙂

    • Awe! You are the sweetest, girl! Thank you!! Thank you, thank you, thank you! This is what I have always wanted to do, working with kiddos in the public library setting. Their young minds are so impressionable and eager to learn new things that I feel I can really get them interested and excited about reading before it’s too late. Plus, they really are so darn cute.

      I couldn’t more with you! Standing out and setting yourself apart from all the other candidates is so important. Did you really sing during your interview?! That is pretty much all of the acca-awesome. I’ve got “The Itsy Bitsy Spider” in my queue and at the ready haha. And questions for the interviewers are crucial. It really shows your interest and that you took time to do your research.

      Thanks so much again, hon! I will for surely let you know how it goes!! 🙂

      • I really, really hope the interview went well!!! I’m not kidding when I say that you’d make an amazing children’s librarian!!

      • Oh my heck, girl. It went AHHHMAZING! Seriously, I’ve never felt more confident or at ease during an interview. I wasn’t nervous in the slightest. And I think they really liked me. It’s always hard to tell haha. I should know by the end of next week at the latest. I really hope they offer it to me, but even if I don’t get it, I’ll feel good knowing I did the absolute best that I could. Thanks so, so much for all of your words of encouragement and well-wishes. You are kind of the best. xoxo

      • Ahh!!! So glad to hear that the interview went well. And that’s good that you don’t have to wait to long. I really hope you get it!

      • Thanks mucho, Liz! I will for surely let you know as soon as I hear anything back! 🙂

  2. Best of luck for today! You’re completely qualified and would be so good at this, so you just have to tell them why. It’s a conversation. I try to reduce it to something as simple as that or I freak out too much…!

    I spent a year after my postgrad (not to mention the year before) applying for jobs, so as you say, practice definitely helps. You already know the answers to the questions, but to avoid mind-blanks, practising is key! And I always research the company back to front, because that’s normally where you find the questions to ask them.

    It also might be nonsense, but it always helps me to feel that what’s for me won’t pass me!

    • Ahhhh thank you, thank you, thank you, darling! Your words of encouragement mean so much! I’m a little nervous, but so gosh darn excited! I love your suggestion of just thinking of it as a conversation. it definitely helps to take the pressure off of things. And you are so right! If it’s not meant for me, it’s not. But if it is, it won’t pass me by. ❤

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

