My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

Love in Action

There will always be a reason why you meet people. Either you need to change your life, or you’re the one that will change theirs.

do-everything-in-love

This morning as I was walking to the coffee shop after a very sweaty workout, I got stopped by a flashing “Don’t Walk” sign at the crosswalk. As I went to grab my phone out of the black hole that is my gym bag to pass the time, something caught the attention out of the corner of my eye. I looked up from my Insta-ing to see that the little girl next to me had let go of her mother’s hand to give her teddy bear to a homeless person who was sitting on the ground beside us. The man’s eyes went from a look of sadness and defeat to pure heart-eye emoji in a matter of seconds.

My heart stopped as I thought to myself—this! This is love in action.

And what a great reminder that this little silly thing called love really is at the center of our lives. Underneath it all–age, skin color, clothing size, language, Google map location and football team choice (Packer, obvies), we’re all nothing but bundles of atoms and energy and molecules with the sole purpose on this planet to love others and be loved in return. We’re here to create and foster awesomely meaningful and ridiculously amazing connections and relationships with the community we share.

Here I was trying to be “connected” via my iPhone, when in all actuality I was disconnecting myself from the world around me. I think sometimes we turn to social media to fill a gap that we have IRL. We spend so much time trying to digitally capture every moment, every experience, that we miss out on what’s really going on around us. We’re so “connected” that is prevents us from being “connected”, if that makes any sense.

I did only get 6 hours of sleep last night so there is very good chance that what I’m saying is kerfuffle. 

My challenge to myself, and to you, is to take a moment away from social media, from all the Facebooks and Twitters and Intagrams and Snapchats, just a moment, and see what real connections you can make. Find love in your surroundings.

And if you can’t find it, create it.

The little girl who selflessly gave her teddy bear noticed something we all didn’t. While we were all busy focusing on our emails, our voicemails and text messages and Facebook statuses, she saw someone who looked like he could use a high-five, a hug, and a bit of sunshine. She took an opportunity to make a connection, to make someone’s day, to give them something to smile about.

Love in action.

You want to know something cool beans?

Love can be found in nearly everything we do.

No, really.

It can be found in someone opening a door for a stranger or in letting someone over in your lane on the highway. Love can be found in a smile, in a “thank you” and in the way you hold someone’s hand. Or maybe, it’s even the actual act of saying the words out loud, or written on paper.

Today, and everyday, let this little silly thing called love be the center, the connector, the driving force in everything that you do. You never know who you will meet.

How they will change your life, or how you will change theirs. 🙂

Comments on: "Love in Action" (2)

  1. I really liked this! I think I’ll be looking to do a couple of random acts of kindness tonight.

  2. What a wonderful story. And – bless that little girl’s heart. Looks like she’s being taught well.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

