My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

Friday Faves

Well hey there, guys! Happy first Friday of fall! Even though it’s been near 90 and sunny in beautiful Denver the past two weeks, I can detect a hint of the cooler weather to come and it’s kind of making me giddy. I’ve got a closet full of booties and jeans and sweaters that are calling my name.

Before those chilly temps enter the building however, you better believe I’m going to be soaking up every last ounce of this Indian summer, starting with my double-header softball game tonight. Tomorrow, the shenanigans and fun continue with a cornhole tourney my friends and I are competing in. It’s being put on by one of our favorite bars and all the money raised goes directly to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Foundation which is so very cool. I don’t wanna brag, but I’m kind of a big deal when it comes to the ‘hole. #Kobe

I’m rounding out my weekend on Sunday with an epic shopping trip with my seeeester. Our best friend is getting married in just two weeks up in Estes Park, CO and I am still without the perfect LBD. Of course I’m gonna need some new shoes to go along with that dress. And jewelry. And possible a spiffy new clutch. Obvies. I would just like to apologize in advance to my bank account for the damage I’m about to do.

Whatever you’ve got up your sleeve for this weekend, I hope you all have a blast and a half! But before you get started on the awesomeness, be sure to take a look at my finds from around the web and more in this week’s edition of Friday Faves. 🙂

Favorite face-plant: Chocolate Buttermilk-Frosted Brownies. Between work (leading three writing work shops, end of term madness AND training my work study students), getting pulled over for having a funky tail light (ugh), and just general adulting, it has been a WEEK! Nothing these epic brownies can’t fix though, right? This picture makes me stupid happy!

Brownies

Favorite wow: I don’t know if y’all have heard, but this Sunday there is going to be a complete Lunar Eclipse aka The Blood Moon aka AWESOME! The last time this happened was in 1982 (pre-Wendi) and it’s not supposed to happen again until 2033. Be sure to get outside around dusk to check out this total WOW moment!

635483637590237620-scheer-moon

Favorite read: Why It Doesn’t Matter How You Feel About Your Friends. This was such a huge read for me this week. I think about my friends all the time. Like, daily. About how much I love them, how their jobs are going, how their families are doing, what their days are like – but unless I reach out and ask, it doesn’t matter much at all. Must read!

bench-full

Favorite Blast From the Past: “Welcome to Good Burger, home of the Good Burger, can I take your order?!” Kenan and Kel had a bit of a reunion this week on Jimmy Fallon and it was glorious.

Favorite bite: Cinnamon-Sugar Sweet Potato Fries with Brown Butter Marshmallow Glaze. Ok why have I never thought to toss my Sweet Potato Fries with cinnamon-sugar, and why oh WHY have I never drizzled them with brown butter marshmallow glaze before?!

SweetPotatoFries_mini

Favorite fantasy: Venice. Oh, this.

Favorite furball. This picture makes me all kinds of happy. What a sweetie! (And, uh, can I get in on some of that ice cream?)Tracey-Ayton-Photo-Frankie_mini

Favorite Jam: Recently discovered a band called Jamestown Story and my peeps, I CANNOT GET ENOUGH! Check them out ASAP! You can start by listening to this one. #AllTheFeels

Favorite photo. Ahhh, fall. 🙂 Do you have your pumpkins yet?  Hoping to pick some up at the Farmers’ Market next weekend.

Favorite treat: Ooey Gooey Caramel Pumpkin Blondies. Speaking of pumpkin…OMG! The ooo, the goo! 😉

Comments on: "Friday Faves" (4)

  1. I had some brownies almost exactly like that and they were amazing. They need to get in my face right now!

  2. I always miss your favorite faves and read them after the weekend is already over. But it’s always a good way to start a Monday so it works out!

  3. Your post left me drooling at the end there. 😀

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

