My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

Friday Faves

Well hello there, friends! In the words of my middle school Principal (shout out to Mr. Schuman!) who would blast this through the loud speakers at John Muir every Friday morning…”Yippy skippy! Ittttttt’s FRIDAYYYYYYY!” He may have smelled like onions and feet, and I swear he wore the same two pairs of pants throughout my three years at the school, but he did have a ceratin way of getting the student population pumped up for the weekend.

I’m YIPPY SKIPPYing it to you all today because it’s not just a regular Friday, but a three-day weekend Friday. (Only my favorite kind of Friday.)

What, what!!

I’m looking forward to the next couple of days, even if it’s supposed to *rain all. weekend. long.

*Yes. It’s still raining. Grr. For realsies though. Just sooooo over this weather.

This weekend is the kickoff to what is looking to be a very busy but very amazing summer! Tonight I’m meeting up with the BFF and the sister for a celebration dinner–my sister just accepted a job offer (and I couldn’t be more proud of and excited for her) and my bestie Jill turned the big 2-7 last week so we’re doing a belated bday thang. On Saturday morning I’m hiking it up with a pal and then later than night I’ve got a blind date (insert nervous giggles here. I’m actually really excited about it–more so about getting a chance to wear my new LBD that I got a few weeks ago and trying out this new Mexican restaurant downtown. And hey, if they guy ends up being super great, it’ll be the cherry on top of the whipped cream on top of the sundae. Wish me luck!) Sunday night I’m meeting up with my cousin and his wife for dinner; I haven’t seen them in over a year so it’ll be really nice catching up and then on Monday, another hike (hopefully—weather, I’m looking at you). Phew! Now that is what I call strawberry jam-packed!

I hope you guys have an equally fun weekend planned, but let’s all be sure to remember the real reason of this holiday. Join me in taking pause in between your barbeques and pool parties, and take a moment to thank and pay respect to those men and women in uniform who lost their lives so that we could be safe and have a chance at an incredible life. They selflessly gave their lives for our freedom, happiness and safety and for that, we will forever be grateful.

To kick off this holiday weekend, let’s take a look at some of my finds from around the web and more in this week’s Friday Faves!

Favorite bikini buster: Chocolate Chip Toffee Bars. As if the 5 (yes, FIVE) things of Oreos I  bought last week weren’t tempting enough…

chocolatechiptoffeebars

Favorite Funny with a cause: Yesterday was #RedNoseDayUSA, a day dedicated to raising awareness and funds to help combat childhood poverty in the US and around the world. NBC ran a telethon featuring some of our favorite celebrities, bringing the laughs to bring the funds! Below is one of my favorite sketched of the night. It was an incredible telecast which helped to raise more than $35 million dollars! If you didn’t get the chance to donate, there’s still time. Go to rednoseday.org for more information. Remember, every little bit helps!

Favorite fashion: Nellore Blouse. Love this sweet and flowy blouse, right? Can I please look as cool as this girl does when I wear it too?

top

Favorite “why didn’t I think of that?”: Cinnamon Toast Crunch Krispies. My favorite cereal on earth in krispie form!

ctckrispies8

Favorite view: Ariel view of Angel Falls (click on the picture on the website). This is THE sweetest view of the world’s highest waterfall, Angel Falls, in Venezuela. Check this out!

waterfall

Favorite DIY: Personal S’mores Roasters. I think these personal s’more roasters made out of mini terra cotta pots are so adorable – plus, no bon fire required! Crap. Now I want s’mores.

Smores

Favorite new to me: I just discovered Cold War Kids and let me tell you: Ob.Sessed. Check out their song First and just try not to ugly karaoke to it! I dare you!

Favorite furballScrub-a-dub-dub. What a sweetie!!

dogtub

Favorite travel: 29 Surreal Places in America You Need to See Before You Die. I am drooooling over this list. Anyone down for a road trip?

Antelope

Favorite print: United Stereotypes of America. Tee hee – this gave me a little giggle. 😉

USA

Comments on: "Friday Faves" (10)

  1. Have for the rest of us who have the normal weekend plus rain….have fun

  2. Personal S’mores Roasters?!?! I finally realize what has been missing for my entire life! I must, must, must have one!
    Enjoy your weekend and have a great time on your date!

    • Soooo cute, right?! Perfect for those summer nights (IF it ever gets nice here haha). And thank you! I’ll for surely let you know how it goes!!

      Have a wonderful weekend yourself, girly!

  3. Enjoy your long weekend!

  4. Great Friday Faves list, as always. Hope you enjoyed your weekend and hope the date went well!

  5. Lots of yummo treats here. Any left-overs?
    LMAO on the US stereo-types map!!! 😆

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

