My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

“A mother understands what a child does not say.” — Author Unknown

4

What would we do without out mothers? Personally, I’d be more lost than, well, myself on a road trip without Siri “rerouting” me every which way (my mad sense of direction just another thing I inherited from mi madre). They taught us to cook meals far more delicious than that bowl of Frosted Flakes (as if that’s even possible), they love us even when we’re unlovable, they provide encouragement and are our number one cheerleader when we need it the most, and they’re the even crazier versions of our fabulous selves (if you can imagine).

I consider myself blessed, honored and so incredibly lucky for being the daughter of such an amazingly strong, confident, beautiful, kind, loving and independent woman. There are many people out there who aren’t as lucky, who have maybe lost their mom or never really had one in their life. I can’t imagine a world without my mom and am sure to never, ever take for granted the amazing relationship that we have.

My mom and I are so much alike in so many ways, an attribute that I wear with great pride. We both are planners, worriers, and tend to wear our hearts on our sleeves (but I draw the line on those “teacher sweaters” that she is so fond of). We would rather give than take, are always willing to lend a helping hand to those who need it, and when we love, we love will our whole selves.

I’ve always had respect and admiration for my mom, but as I have gotten older, that respect and admiration has developed and grown into a much deeper appreciation and understanding, an acknowledgement of the sacrifices she made for both my sister and myself as well as for our family, of the unconditional love that she has, the strength she possesses and the wisdom she has imparted.

Plus, my mom can rock out a pair of mom jeans like nobody’s business.

In honor of Mother’s Day, I thought I would celebrate and honor her by sharing just some of the pieces of advice she has given me over the past 28 years.

1. Happiness is far and away the single most important thing in this complicated life of ours… And amazingly, it’s all our choice. 

2. Be sure to always pee before getting into the car, starting a movie (especially when at a theater), and going to bed.

3. Think extensively before making crucial decisions. Make sure that when you close a door, you’re perfectly content with shutting it. And when a new one opens, don’t be afraid of the wonderful things that may come your way because of it.

4. Fall in love as often as you can. Fall in love with songs, with books, with places, and fall in love with people. But above all, fall in love with yourself.

5. There is nothing that chocolate can’t fix, Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups specifically.

1

6. Make him chase you.

7. Be worth the chase.

8. Slow down. Life is passing you by. Make the most out of every. single. moment.

9. Rompers don’t work on everyone.

10. Wear the romper anyway.

11. Your friends will give you all sorts of advice. Listen to them, take their point of view into consideration. And then do whatever you want. Because your friends are great, but you need to make your own mistakes every now and then.

12. Make mistakes. Lots and lots of them. But learn from every single one. And never make the same mistake twice.

600620_914373383102_700905397_n

13. Cherish every moment, for every second spent is a second you will never get back.

14. Be kind to yourself.

15. Be kind to others.

16. Confidence is key.

17. Do not let anyone dictate your happiness.

18. Tissues, a snack, and chapstick: Three things to always have in your purse at all times.

19. When in doubt, don’t text him.

20. But don’t be afraid of texting him every once in a while.

2

21. Never throw away your receipts.

22. Sometimes walking away is the hardest decision you’ll have to make.

23. You are strong enough to make that decision.

24. Be proud of who you are.

25. Don’t forget to pre-heat the oven.

26. Do. Dream. Try. Never give up.

27. Travel as often as you can. Visit places you’ve always dreamed of going to, but don’t neglect the places you’ve never heard of. Go to that country in Africa whose name you can’t pronounce.

28. You’re never too old to need your mom.

For everything that you are, for everything that you’ve done and will continue to do, thanks mom! I love you more than any words (or Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups) could say.

This Mother’s Day, and every day, be sure to celebrate all the moms in your life for the amazing women they are! ❤

Comments on: "To My Best Friend, My Rock, My Hero….My Mom." (4)

  1. Aww this was really sweet! Sounds like you have an awesome relationship with your mom. You’re very lucky!

  2. You are beautiful and wise!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

