My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

tumblr-life-lesson-quotes

As 2015 gets ever so near (how is that even possible?! I just got used to writing 2014 on everything!), I thought it would be nice to take a hot minute to stop and reflect on some of the things I have learned and were reminded of this year. Looking back on the last 365ish days or so, I can’t help but be amazed at everything that has happened in my life, everything that I got to experience, places I got to go, people I was fortunate enough to meet and memories I was lucky to have made.

Here’s the 10-second Tom version of what’s gone down so far…

I completed grad school and finally, FINALLY got my Master’s Degree, moved across the country, got a new job, settled into a smashing new apartment (if I do say so myself), published a book (WHAT?! Still trying to wrap my head around that one), became a contributor for HelloGiggles (WHAT?! Still trying to wrap my head around that one as well!), joined an amazing new church, met some incredible new friends and reconnected with old ones. I’ve shared a million laughs, shed a few tears and gave a lot of hugs. Phew. Is that all?

This past year, I’ve also learned and have been reminded of just a few things in particular….

1. Nothing is ever completely as it seems. (I think in today’s age of social media, it’s even more important to remind ourselves of this on the regular.)

2. Always, always remember to take the cardboard out from under your DiGiorno before you stick it in the oven. Not that I know from experience or anything…

3. There is so much good in this world. The news and the media can sometimes make it a little difficult to find, but my goodness, once you start looking for it, you’ll see it everywhere.

4. Friendships are fluid. They change and take on different shapes and meanings, and that’s okay. It’s so wonderful to let old friends back in, and it really is okay to let the unhealthy ones go.

5. There will never again be music like 90s music. Sorry, 2014.

6. The size of your body, the clothes your wear, and the amount of makeup you have on (or don’t) does not determine your self-worth (like, it really, really doesn’t.)

7. Abandoning the “should mentality” is one of the best things you can do for yourself.

8. As George Michael so iconically put it, “You’ve got to have faith [faith, faith.]

9. Sometimes being a Milwaukee Brewers fan is hard. But I have a feeling 2015 is going to be our year. (Like I said, you’ve got to have faith [faith, faith.]

10. Adopting “F the Bullfunky” as one of my life mottos has served me well this past year. Life is way too short to sweat the small stuff.

11. I’ll never be cool. And I’m 110% okay with that.

12. Going after your dreams takes work. It’s hard. Like, the hardest. But you can’t stop. You can’t give up. (Again with the faith thing.)

13. I want to be BFF’s with Jimmy Fallon. And Emma Stone. Can my people talk to their people and make that happen?

14. Make sure you understand the basic principles of personal finance (I may have fallen asleep while it was being explained to me, but I finally know about–and have my very own–401K plan. I’m getting so old, guys.)

15. There is no growth in the comfort zone, and no comfort in the growth zone.

16. It’s scary, and often difficult, to admit when you’re ready to make a major life change.

17. Dating is ALL of the worst. But it’s also kind of ALL of the best. How can that be?!

18. It’s important to surround yourself with positive, passionate people.

19. Asking for help is a sign of strength, not weakness.

20. Try not to take life–or yourself–too seriously.

21. Nothing is coincidence.

22. it’s critical to pull your head out of your arse and listen to what God and/or the Universe are telling you. (See #21)

23. Never, ever apologize for being a “heart thinker.”

24. Forgive.

25. Make a point everyday to have a positive impact on someone else. It can be as simple as saying hello, holding the door open for them, or sharing a smile. You never know how these simplest of actions can turn someone’s day around and make them feel loved/appreciated.

26. Make a point everyday to give thanks.

27. Write love notes.

28. Give compliments. Accept compliments.

29. Encourage and uplift others.

30. And lastly, I think the most important thing I have learned this year is that there is still so much left to learn.

I’ve been so extremely blessed this past year and can’t wait to see what God has in store for me next! Here’s to finishing off 2014 with a bang!

Question of the day: What are some things you learned this year?!

Image via

Comments on: "Things I’ve learned (or were minded of) in 2014" (8)

  1. Sounds like a very wise year!
    All the best to you in 2015 🙂

  2. This was wonderful. I’m going to take the list and put it on my mirror and try to be true to it each day 😃😃😃

    God is good.

  3. I love this! Like really, really love this list! Like “wanna print it out and hang up on my wall” love it! So many things that I am still trying to learn and need constantly remind myself of.

    • Aw thank you, hon! I think we are all in a state of growth and change (but having little reminders of what we want in life, our goals and the lessons that we have learned along the way are always a good thing!) 🙂

  4. Sounds like you had an eventful fun-filled year!
    Happy 2015!
    {Hugs}

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

