My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

Lately I’ve been learning that things don’t always have to be so complicated. According to the theory of Occam’s Razor, the hypothesis with the fewest assumptions is likely correct. Or in other words:

“Chill out, what you yellin’ for?
Lay back, it’s all been done before
And if you could only let it be
You will see
I like you the way you are
When we’re drivin’ in your car
And you’re talking to me one on one
But you’ve become…”

“Somebody else ‘round everyone else
You’re watching your back like you can’t relax
You’re tryin’ to be cool
You look like a fool to me
Tell me”

“Why do you have to go and make things so complicated?
I see the way you’re acting like you’re somebody else
Gets me frustrated
Life’s like this
You, you fall and you crawl and you break
And you take what you get and you turn it into honesty
You promised me I’m never gonna find you fake it
No, no, no”

–Avril Lavigne

I think it’s time we all took a page from my girl Avril and chilled the fudgecicle out.

Why make things more complicated than they have to be?

I hereby give yourself permission to uncomplicate things every once in a while (confession: those cookies I made last week were from my favorite Pillsbury doughboy, not homemade. But you know what? They still tasted amazing and saved me a bunch-a-crunch of time!) This adage not only applies to your cookie life, but also your work and personal lives as well.

I’m not saying that you SHOULD always take the path of least resistance, but in cases where it saves you time, headaches, and stress, making your Lisa Frank backpack a little lighter in the process, go for it, girl (or guy).

Life is way, WAY too short to worry about complicating it up.

No, no, no.

Comments on: "Lately I’ve Been Learning…Things don’t have to be so complicated" (1)

  1. I was definitely bobbing my head along to the lyrics. Oh, Avril.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

