My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

Friday Favs

Hey guys!

Happy Friday (more like FriYAY amiright?!)

I’ve got some exciting news to share with all of you. This morning I became a great aunt again (actually, it’s more like second cousin. I think?) My cousin Rachel just had her second bambino, a beautiful and healthy baby girl named Cora and I couldn’t be more happy for her and her growing family!! It’s times like these that really put things into perspective. The world can be a pretty hard place; I sometimes feel that everything is so negative, one of the reasons why I actually don’t like watching the news. But seeing these little blessings, these miracles that happen everyday all around us–whether it be a kind act from a stranger, laughs shared between good friends, and the first smile and snuggle from a newborn being introduced into this crazy thing we call life–it makes me appreciate the little things and be grateful for what I have. The world can be a pretty hard place, but it can also be pretty fantastic.

Between my cousin and the recent influx of high school and college pals who are preggers or who just welcomed their little ones into this world (how is that possible, by the way?! I’m not old enough to have friends having babies!! Or at least I don’t feel old enough. After all, we were just babies ourselves, not too long ago), I will admit. I’ve become a bit baby-feverish.  I know I’m not even close to being ready to have kids of my own, but I definitely would love to start a family, have a bunch of mini-me’s running around with their noses in books (or cookie jar).

All in good time, I suppose. But until then, I am more than happy having children of the four-legged and furry variety. Speaking of hairy children…I’m hoping to pick up my pup this weekend!!!! The animal shelter still has him on medical hold and is not quite ready to adopted yet, but the nice people at the Dumb Friend’s League here in Denver told me that it could be any day now.

Just a fair warning: You WILL be inundated with pictures. Pictures of him eating. Pictures of him sleeping. Pictures of him walking and pooping (and I’m not going to rule out pictures of him pooping WHILE walking. If he takes anything after his owner, he will be skilled in many an area). 😉

So that’s what’s a happening in my neck of the woods. How about you? Any exciting weekend plans?

Whatever you’ve got going on, I hope your Saturday and Sunday is filled with lots of fun, laughs, and endless amount of this amazingness! But in the meantime, feel free to check out my finds from around the web and more in this week’s edition of Friday Favs!

Favorite Read: My buddy Jim Gaffigan did it again, my friends. He is definitely one of my top five favorite comedians and in his latest book, Food: A Love Story, he doesn’t disappoint. I had to put the book down at times simply because I was afraid I was going to pee my pants from laughing so hard (which, as you can imagine, can get kind of awkward when you’re at work. Or at the corner Starbucks.) Do yourself a flavor and order this delicious page-turner!

1

Favorite treat: Peanut Butter Chocolate Chunk Cookie. I can’t think of much more I want to do than sink my teeth into one of these chewy cookies studded with chocolate and peanut butter right now. O.M.G.

ChocolatePeanutButterCookies

Favorite place. Lake? Check. Lounge chairs? Check. Fire? Check. BEER? CHECK! I’ll be here if ya’ need me. 🙂

Favorite quote. A. Men.

quote

Favorite slurp: Crock Pot Minestrone Soup. Hearty, flavorful, AND made in a crock pot. What’s not to love?

Favorite pooch. I CANNOT even handle the cuteness. Cannot even. Looking forward to bringing this meatball home with me!

pup

Favorite vantage point. Fantastic wedding day photo opp!

Favorite funny. Story of my life. Consider this my CrossFit Workout. No bag left behind!

Meme_mini

Favorite sweet: White Chocolate Brownies. Cannot get over the gooey factor. These look like they’d melt in your mouth!

Favorite find: Unzipped Candy Dish. How freaking cute is this candy dish?! It’s a glass dish in the shape of an open plastic bag!

Favorite decor: Unique Fall Decorating Ideas for 2014. Must check these adorable ideas out – I particularly love the globe basket.

UniqueFallDecoratingIdeas

Favorite Nummmm: Brownie Batter Parfait. You have GOT to see this recipe – it is off the chain!!!

BrownieBatterParfait

Comments on: "Friday Favs" (2)

  1. A tasty post.. 😀
    Happy weekend 🙂

  2. Oh – Love Fri-YAY! 😀
    Is that your pup?
    And – what is his name?
    So exiting!
    As ALWAYS – LOVE your Friday Faves!
    You always find the most interesting things.
    🙂 Happy Weekend! 🙂
    RoSy

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

