My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

Hey guys!

Everybody say it with me now…..

“YIPPY SKIPPY!!! IT’S FRIDAYYYYYY!!!” When I was in middle school, my principal would start his morning announcements with this exciting sentiment, sending all of the 1200 pubescent students in the building into a frenzy, yours truly included. It was just a nice way to start off the day and put everyone in a yippy skippy kind of mood heading into the weekend.

Before I get into my Friday Favs for this week, I’d like to share some news with you all.

First off, my little sister who has been battling endometriosis for a few years now had surgery this morning. She had this same surgery two years ago and while it seemed to help for a while, the symptoms just seemed to get worse over time. She’s a fighter and I know that she will do great, but I am hoping that the doctors can figure out what is causing this chronic and debilitating pain she’s been having and will be able to do something for her. It hurts my heart to see people who I love going through something so hard, knowing that there isn’t anything I can do but give them all of my support and love (and in all cases, my beast-mode bear hugs). Plus, being so far away from home, not being able to be there for her in person is really, REALLY hard. But small fry, if you’re reading this, you got this girl! You got this!

Secondly (and less on the important scale), I have my final interview for the Adult Librarian position this coming Monday morning!!!! I’m weirdly enough not that nervous (although I say that now. When I’m walking into the library come 10:30 next Monday I know my stomach will be filled with butterflies pterodactyls). I think it’s partly because I am so confident in what I can bring to this position, partly because I know how passionate I am about it, and partly because I have done these interviews for what seems to be forever and a day now. I know what to expect going it which definitely helps a bit. In addition to the standard interview spiel, I have to give a brief 5-10 minute presentation on an adult program that I would like to implement in the library. I chose to do a take on a Pinterest Party where patrons can not only learn how to use this amazingly amazing–and addictive–social media site, but also make projects inspired by ideas found on Pinterest. At the end of the five-week Pinterest Party program, there will be a Pinterest Party Bash where all of the projects made in previous sessions will be on display for everyone to see. Patrons will also be invited to bring a dish/dessert they found through Pinterest to share with the group.

Oh. The theme of the projects during these five weeks will be “Getting Crafty with Books”–projects that incorporate old and used books, repurposing them into things like lamps, storage containers and clocks. SO BOOKING COOL, RIGHT?!

I think it sounds like it would be a great way to not only get older library patrons tuned into their technology side (using the actual Pinterest site) but also their creative, tactile and social side (creating awesome projects while at the same time meeting new people). I really hope they like it!

Of course I can’t give this presentation without props, right? I’m planning on baking these babies to hand out after my presentation, just to give them an example of some of the things that could be incorporated into future Pinterest Party programs 😉

With everything that’s been going on lately, I’ve been having some seriously long but amazing talks with the Big Guy upstairs. It’s a good thing I have unlimited minutes and full data coverage. I would however so greatly appreciate any additional prayers, especially for my sister. God truly does work in the most mysterious of ways and while the methods to his madness don’t always  make the most of sense (at least at the time), there is a reason for everything. You just have to have faith.

Speaking of, I have the utmost faith that you all have an amazing weekend but until then, please be sure to check out my finds from around the web and more in this week’s addition of Friday Favs!

Favorite Feel Good: Because sometimes, you just really need a high-five, no? This just makes me so, so, sososososo happy! high-five-800

Favorite proposal: I Want to Marry You Cookies. Two kinds of chocolate (TWO!) and pecans?! I do, I do, I doooo-ooooh!

cookie

Favorite drool: Hanging Library. Pretty much? This is EXACTLY what I want in my future house.

books

Favorite place: Emerald Lake. Just 20 miles or so west of Lake Louise in Alberta, Canada, this lake is absolutely breathtaking. I would rent a house here for a week in the summertime in a heartbeat!

EmeraldLake_mini

Favorite treat: Easy Homemade Funfetti CupcakesNormally I’m a 4:1 ratio of cupcake to icing kind of gal, but holy buckets I would totally reverse the rule for these babies. Mouthwatering, and adorable!

Easy-Homemade-Funfetti-Cupcakes-with-Vanilla-Buttercream

Favorite furball. Temptation…

Puppy

Favorite snuggle. This WILL become my winter weekend uniform. Just need that vest!

Favorite cozy: Cinnamon Bun White Hot Chocolate. This is soooo happening as soon as the s*&# starts flying. And when I say s*&#, I mean the white, cold and fluffy stuff that shall remain nameless.

Favorite truth: Sometimes…app

Favorite funny: We’ve all been there. Some of us more than others (*cough my dad’s whole side of the family cough*)

fart

Comments on: "Friday Fav’s and a Special Prayer Request" (6)

  1. Love to your sis and huge good luck for the final interview. Happy Friday indeed!x

  2. I’m so sorry to hear about your sister. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your sister.

    So exciting about the interview! I would be crazy nervous about having to do a presentation but it sounds like you have it all planned out. That Pinterest Class sounds awesome. I would want to take that if my library offered it. And you’re going to bring in cookies? If they don’t hire you, they are insane!

    • Thank you, sweetie! Your thoughts and prayers are muchly appreciated! My sister just came out of surgery and my mom said she is doing well, just a bit groggy and sore.

      And thank you!! I am really excited about the interview!! My heart is definitely in the public library atmosphere and I think it would soooooo amazing if I were to be offered this job!! I just have so many awesome ideas that I could implement and really make it a kick-ass space for the community. You really would go to a Pinterest Party program? Awe yay!! That makes me feel better haha. And I’m hoping that the cookies will be just the little somethin’-somethin’ extra that will sweetly seal the deal 😉

      Will most definitely let you know how it goes! Have a great weekend, girl!

      • That’s good to hear that you’re sister is out of surgery and doing ok!

        And I would definitely go to a Pinterest Party. I have so many things pinned and I keep saying that I want to do some of the stuff, but I never do. That would be the motivation to finally get to do some of stuff.

        Enjoy your weekend! 🙂

  3. […] a crazy week (and a stressful interview–which, btw’s, I haven’t heard anything YET!!! Grrrr….) I’m ready to relax […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

