My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

In the Eyes of a Bookworm…

Well hello there, friends! And a very happy hump day!

So as you all know by now, I am a bookworm to the umpteenth degree.

Actually, I’m more of a booksnake, bookpython, book-biggest-form-of-a-worm-like-creature-there-is.

I live, eat, breath [and smell] books.

Now there are many people out there who just so happen to share my affinity obsession with all things books.

You cannot leave a second-hand book store without buying 3 or 4 or 10 of your favorite reads.

You think the library is the greatest thing since BEFORE sliced bread.

Your idea of a wild and crazy Friday night is spending it curled up on your favorite, comfy chair, binge-reading the latest best-seller IN your Dr. Seuss pajamas.

You get me.

You feel me.

But there are also many people (those who shall not be named) who sadly do not get goosepimples any and every time they hear that J.K Rowling (aka God) might, just might, be releasing a new HP.**

**Quit playing games with my heart, J.K.**

For those people, it can be hard to relate to the bookworm/snake/python/book-biggest-form-of-a-worm-like-creature-there-is’s reality.

But don’t you worry, guys! I have created a simple and complete guide to help the non-booklover communicate with the bibliophile.

1. Night-in

What it usually means: Sipping a glass bottle of wine and binge-watching Netflix.

What it means to bookworms: Power-reading to your heart’s content.

image

2. Movie

What it usually means: 90 minutes to sit in the dark and eat popcorn while being entertained by a film.

What it means to bookworms: An enraging 90 minutes of scoffing at a (most likely) inaccurate version of a written masterpiece.

image

3. Library

What it usually means: A somewhat boring place filled with books. Great for taking quiet naps.

What it means to bookworms: THE MOST MAGICAL PLACE ON EARTH.

image

4.  Commute

What it usually means: A long, dreadful journey to and from work on public transportation.

What it means to bookworms: A not-long-enough chance to immerse yourself in the pages of faraway lands.

image

5. Sleep

What it usually means: 6-8 hours spent each night lying down with your eyes closed, resting your brain.

What it means to bookworms: 1-3 hours of resting time in between books… only because you can no longer keep your eyes open.

image

6.  Garage sale

What it usually means: A place where people sell their unwanted old things.

What it means to bookworms: A treasure trove of awesome books on sale for $1!

image

7. Dating

What it usually means: Getting to know a potential mate.

What it means to bookworms: Getting to know a potential mate, knowing all along that he’ll never be as good as your book boyfriend.

image

8.  Work

What it usually means: A boring desk job.

What it means to bookworms: A boring desk job made much more exciting by taking secret reading breaks via the ereader in your lap.

image

9. Lunch 

What it usually means: An hour break in the middle of the weekday to eat a sad desk salad.

What it means to bookworms: An hour break in the middle of the weekday when you forgo food to try to crush as many chapters as possible.

image

10. Multi-tasking

What it usually means: The ability to do two things at the same time.

What it means to bookworms: The ability to read while doing something else at the same time. This includes, but is not limited to, cooking, eating, working out, watching TV and walking the dog.

image

11.  Budget

What it usually means: Imposing a strict spending limit on any items that aren’t considered essential.

What it means to bookworms: Skimping on rent, groceries, and other “necessities” so you have cash to buy that new bestseller.

image

12. Best friend

What it usually means: A person who loves you, supports you, laughs with you, cries with you, and is always by your side.

What it means to bookworms: Quite simply, a book.

image

Comments on: "In the Eyes of a Bookworm…" (5)

  1. Ah I love this. I used to work in the city and it was an hour and a half commute both ways. While I don’t miss much about that commute and I love that now my job is only a fifteen minute drive away, I really do miss all the reading I would get down going to and from work.

    • I envy the days when I was able to drown out the stresses of the work day on the bus, reading my favorite book on the way home. I may or may not have missed my stop (more than once) because I was so entranced in a story haha.

      • Haha I’ve been there, recently actually. I was on the ferry going into the city while reading The Goldfinch. I’m engrossed in my book and some guy taps my shoulder. I look up and realize that they ferry had stopped and everyone else had already gotten off.

      • Hahaha! It definitely happens to the best of us. And obviously we are the best 😉
        P.S. What did you think of The Goldfinch? I thought it was one of the best books I have read this summer!

      • I liked it. The Secret History is one of my favorite books of all time so I was just so excited to see that Donna Tartt wrote a new book. I think it lost it’s way a bit towards the end but overall I really liked it. She’s such a good writer.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

