My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

Friday Fav’s

Happy (snowy?!?!?!) Friday, everyone!

Yep.

This happened.

3

And I’m about to crawl into a ball under my desk and cry.

Yes, it’s only a dusting of the fluffy white stuff, and it will probably be gone by noon, BUT IT’S STILL SUMMER!!! It’s not supposed to snow WHEN IT’S STILL SUMMER!!!!

On the bright side (because I always try to find a silver lining, even when the lining is dusted with SNOW), it gave me a chance last night to break out my crockpot for the first time in a good while to make some delicioso white-chicken chili AND I got to wear my new looks-almost-like-real-leather-and-is-so-super-cute-jacket to work today. So I guess this chilly precipitation surprise wasn’t ALL bad (just some of the bad).

In other non-snow related news, I still, STILL haven’t heard back from the school I interviewed with for that Librarian position, and I’m still, STILL going bonkers over not knowing, but I still, STILL have faith that everything will work out. And no news is good news, right?

RIGHT?!

I actually had another interview for a position at a public library this past Tuesday and have another one for another position at another public library this coming Monday. The interviews really seem to be coming in now which is soooooo incredibly exciting! I just hope that one of them sticks.

But like my grandma always said, you can’t spend your time worrying about something that is out of your control. So, I’m going to put on my big-girl-non-worrying panties and I’m going to have one heck of a weekend! Tomorrow I’m going to watch one of my friends kick some bootay at his la crosse game and then on Sunday, I’ll be cheeseheading on over to one of Denver’s most famous Packer bars, Swanky’s (yes, I said Green Bay Packers bar IN DENVER–they are America’s team, after all)  with a friend to hopefully see them kick some bootay as well. And you know I’m all about that bass those cheesecurds.

I hope that you guys have an amazing snow-free weekend full of fun and hijinks and in the mean time, feel free to check out my favorite finds from around the web and more in the week’s edition of Friday Fav’s 🙂

Favorite indulge: 7 Layer Cookies a la Mode. Are you KIDDING me! I think one bite of this luscious, indulgent dessert would send me straight into a blissful sugar coma!

Favorite funky fashion find: Library card socks?! Check these out (pun intended). Sooooo super cute, right?! I spend way too many hours on the Out of Print website, drooling over their booknerd clothing and accessories and have probably spent way tooo much moola stocking my closet with all of their amazing booknerd clothing and accessories, but can you blame me? Plus, it’s a librarian’s prerogative 😉

1

Favorite pooch: I think I can, I think I can…just one more step. Adorbs.

2

Favorite slurp: Crock Pot Minestrone Soup. Hearty, flavorful, AND made in a crock pot. Perfect on those, ahem, snowy September days. What’s not to love?

Favorite find (maybe ever): Pinstrosity. I have been in the weirdest mood this week – laughing like an insane person at things I would normally just maybe chuckle at (case in point – I laughed ’til I cried watching Jimmy Fallon YouTube videos this week at work, which isn’t that hard to do in all actuality. I think this whole waiting this is getting the best of me.) Anyways, that said, I laughed at this website, where people submit failed attempts at projects or recipes found on Pinterest, until I could no longer breathe. Maybe it’s really not that funny, but I think it is. Wait ’til you get to the stacked children photo attempt. JUST WAIT.

Favorite funny. See above re: weird mood. I just thought this was absolutely hilarious. Rebel baby polar bear – whee!

Favorite wake-me-up: French Toast Dumplings. I cannot imagine how insane these gooey, sweet dumplings taste. Holy cow!

Favorite place: Edinburgh Castle, Scotland. Seriously the coolest.

EdinburghCastle

Favorite tip: How To Style a Bookcase. Seems so simple, but yes, I DO need a tutorial for this kind of thing!

And I have to end on a sweet note….

Favorite sweet: White Chocolate Brownies. Cannot get over the gooey factor. These look like they’d melt in your mouth!

Comments on: "Friday Fav’s" (5)

  1. I cannot believe that it snowed where you are! That’s crazy! Sucks you still haven’t heard back from that school yet. Maybe they just take awhile to make decisions and process everything. Hopefully you will hear from them soon. If not, sounds like you have other exciting things going on also. Good luck!

    I love Out of Print so much! We actually did a review on them a few months ago at my job so I got some free samples. They really are so great!

    • I know! I’ve never, ever in my life seen snow in September! So crazy!! And thanks, girl. Not an hour after I posted this, I decided to shoot an email to the library director at the school just to get a status update if I could. I got a call a few minutes later from the director telling me they decided to go with another candidate. I’m a bit sad and disappointed I didn’t get it (I tried really hard not to cry because I am at work), but it only means that there is bound to be something even better out there for me. Maybe one of these other positions I have or will be interviewing for is “the one”. Everything happens for a reason.

      But I think I’m going to allow myself a tiny pitty party tonight, maybe drown my sorrows in some Chunky Monkey and an Out of Print shopping spree?

      • Oh boo! It’s their loss. Job rejections always suck but there are plenty of other jobs out there. You’ll find something even better! But you definitely should treat yourself to some ice cream and a little shopping. You deserve it!

      • Thank you! You are too sweet! That definitely makes me feel better! And you are so right; it is there loss. Have a great weekend, hon!

  2. What the snow are you talking about when it’s still summer?
    Sorry – Wendi – but – keep those winter words for…WINTER!!! 😉

    Oh – those french toast dumplings!!!

    Hope you hear soon from the place that you interviewed at & hope that it’s what you want to hear.
    Meanwhile – yep – keep on interviewing…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

