My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

9780804137683Well hello my fellow sugar-fiend friends!

Boy do I have a treat for you (pun intended).

Now normally, I am not one for cookbooks. I mean, sure, I love looking drooling at the photographs of the delicious food on the pages, but when it comes to actually rolling up my sleeves and using the book for what it actually is there for, to cook things, I’m not such a fan.

Don’t get me wrong.

I LOVE to eat.

I’m just not very savvy in the kitchen when it comes to whipping up tonight’s dinner.

But baking?

Now THAT is a whole other jar of cookies.

I am the baking master of disaster.

I don’t want to brag, but I do make the best chocolate-chip oatmeal cookies in three counties (I’ve got references) and love getting creative with anything having to do with dessert.

It doesn’t hurt that I also have the biggest sweet tooth (sweet teeth is more like it) of anyone I know.

In Sweet: Our Best Cupcakes, Cookies, Candy and More, Food Network Magazine editors have picked their all-time favorite treats and put them into one amazing book.

I seriously feel like I gained five pounds just staring at the cover of this book! But as a lover of all things called dessert, I couldn’t help but get it, and I’m so glad I did!

This book is made up of various chapters from to die for cupcakes, cookies, whoopie pies, candy, and even to cakes that I swear look like they came from a bakery shop! What I love about this book is that it’s for EVERYBODY, meaning it doesn’t contain ingredients that you have to cross the continent to find. It’s straight forward, self explanatory, and easy to use as well as follow. Each dessert has it’s own picture, another thing to love about this book as I dislike trying new things if I have no idea what it’s supposed to even look like, and the recipe printed on the side in an easy to follow guide. It shows the ingredients first–again, it’s all stuff that can be found in a local grocery store–and from there it tells you exactly how to make the product. This book is also littered with useful tidbits that make it an interesting read as well as pages thrown in that show how to spice up existing snacks like dipping pretzels, chips, and other items in chocolate, or even taking a recipe that they have and adding additional things to it, so one recipe can actually have various tastes.

Some of the desserts actually call for store bought cakes (which I thought was a genius idea! Because sometimes, ain’t nobody got time for that!).  Unfortunately for my waist line, I will be trying as many of these recipes throughout the fall baking season as possible. I did try out a few recipes already, just something easy and quick (the chewy chocolate chip cookies and the brownie bars), and let me say they were divine! I brought them into work and instantly became everyone’s new BFF.

This is definitely a book for any dessert loves, and has tons of recipes that would be cute for kids to get messy and help with too!

I give this oh so sweet book a solid 5 stars!

*I received this book for free from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

