My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

Friday Fav’s

Happy Friday, guys!

I hope your (short) week was great and went by extra fast for you! For some reason, short weeks always seem to drag on and on for me, maybe because I have this expectation that they’re going to be super easy or that Friday will be there in a blink of an eye just because one day was tacked off the “to-do, to-worry, to-go-to-work” list. Either way, I am so glad that the weekend has made it’s appearance once more. I don’t have anything too major planned, with the exception of hopefully, hopefully, HOPEFULLY celebrating my new job!!!!!

As most of you know, I had a huge interview yesterday for a librarian position at the Colorado Academy, a private prep school here in the Denver area. Thank you all for your well-wishes and for keeping all appendages crossed for me. It truly means the world!

The interview went amazing from start to finish and I can easily say that I have never felt more confident going in and coming out. The library staff as well as the principle were wonderful, so welcoming and kind. They also shared my love of learning and books, which made me like them even more. The culture and teaching focus of CA was pretty spectacular, something I haven’t seen or worked with before as I come from a public school background; all of the students that attend have very high aptitudes and are eager to learn. Because it is a private school, they don’t have to adhere to the standard ways of teaching (i.e. putting so much emphasis on standardized testing, curriculum limits, etc.). This gives the teachers, as well as the librarians ample flexibility and creativity to develop fun and engaging activities, lessons and projects for the students, getting them better prepared for higher education and more importantly, getting them excited about learning!

I can’t even tell you how much I wanted to do a happy dance right then and there when I was learning about this school’s philosophies and goals.

I mean, that’s SO ME!!

During the interview, I not only was able to tour the school campus (I’m telling you, this school was nicer and bigger than most of the colleges I have seen) and meet with and talk to the library team as well as  the principle of the school but I was also able to sit in on a classroom storytime visit (I instantly fell in love with the students!) and was invited to lunch with the head librarian of the Lower School library with whom I would be working with.

Have you ever wanted anything so bad, you couldn’t see straight?

For the past 24 hours, I have been in a constant state of haze, my vision most certainly not 20/20.

I haven’t heard anything yet but am hoping, hoping, HOPING that they let me know by the end of the day today. I don’ think, actually, I KNOW I won’t be able to make it through the weekend without knowing either way.

Hurry up and wait is not one of my favorite pastimes.

But in the meantime, to keep myself distracted, I’m going to check out these favorite finds ‘o mine from around the web and more in this week’s edition of Friday Fav’s.

And you should too!

Have a great weekend, everybody!

Favorite fall: White Chocolate Pumpkin Snickerdoodles. The folks at Trader Joe’s recently told me that all their pumpkin products are coming in next week – whee! In the meantime, I’ll be over here drooling over these chewy pumpkin-spiced snickerdoodles. 🙂

White-Chocolate-Pumpkin-Snickerdoodles-5_mini

Favorite fashion. Ok, if fall food isn’t getting you excited for the next couple of months, maybe this charming fall outfit will. LOVE me some fall boots, scarves and sweaters!

outfit_mini

Favorite breakfast: Cinnamon-Pumpkin Waffles with a Caramel Syrup. I saw this photo on my Instagram feed a few days ago and my mouth instantly began to water. I want to take a swim in that caramel syrup!

pumpkin1_mini

Favorite funny: 21 Actual Analogies Used by High School Students in English Essays. I found this floating around Facebook the other day and was dyying. #14…I can’t even.

21Analogies

Favorite “take me there”: 19 Truly Charming Places To See Before You Die. Good grief this roundup just gave me the travel bug.

CharmingPlaces_mini

Favorite jam remix: Because Jimmy Fallon, The Roots and I both know that it’s All About That Bass. LOVE this song!!! And the message is frogging amazing!

Favorite crave: Chicken and Dumplings. Ok I promise I’ll stop with the cold weather posts after this recipe, but how perfect do these dumplings look? Chewy and dense. Will definitely be giving them a go this fall.

The-Best-Chicken-and-Dumplings- -Le-Creudet-Giveaway-3-The-Hopeless-Housewife_mini

Favorite tip: How to Print Your Instagram Pictures Anywhere. This is an awesome tip – especially if you want to make an Instagram wall!

Print-Instagram-Pictures_mini

Favorite find. BaHA – so true. I think it would make more sense to say, “Home is where the pants aren’t ON” (that’s just the grammar nerd in me), but I think you get it 😉

HomeisWherethePantsArent_mini

Favorite pooch: Dapper Dog. What a gentleman!

dapperdog

Favorite flip: Rice Krispie Treat Frosting. Rice Krispie Treats in my frosting? Genius!

Rice-Krispie-Treat-Frosting_mini

 

Comments on: "Friday Fav’s" (5)

  1. Yay. So happy to hear the interview went well. Did they give you a time frame of when they’d be making a decision? The waiting game is always the worst.

    • Thank you, thank you, thank you, hon!! They didn’t give me a time frame which is KILLING me lol. But I know that they had wanted someone to start ASAP so I am assuming it will be soon. If you need me, I’ll be over here on pins and needles 😉

      Hope you have a great Friday!!

  2. Eek good luck!! I’d love to be a librarian. Get practicing saying “shhh” and pointing sternly at “be Quiet” signs! Xx

  3. A short work week is almost always a great one! 😉
    Love your faves!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

