My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

18077868

Hey friends! Happy Monday 🙂

I’ve got another great page-turner for you today!

I received The Opposite of Maybe by Maddie Dawson from Blogging For Books in exchange for an honest review and let me tell you all, it was a wonderful read!

There’s a comfort in reading a book with realistic characters, sort of like sipping hot chocolate from that special mug, or slipping into your favorite pair of jeans sweats. Flash, drama, and excitement in a book is fine, but I also like that other type, the type where I read about people who I might meet perusing veggies at the farmer’s market, or while waiting at a bus stop, or even when picking up the mail in my apartment building. Maddie Dawson created a whole slew of such characters — not perfect or glamorous in any way, but ones with their own quirks, both lovable and irritating. In The Opposite of Maybe they come to life, opening a window into their world so we can glimpse them moving through their days. I found myself on many occasions throughout the book really feeling all of their feels; sometimes commiserating, sometimes cheering, and occasionally shouting “What were you thinking?!”

You know you’re reading a good book when you start having full-blown conversations with the characters.

With Rosie and Jonathan, Dawson unveils a couple who fit each other like an old pair of socks; the type you think is just fine until you suddenly realize your toe is poking out and the heel is threadbare. aka pretty much all of the socks I own. That is if I can keep them longer than a few weeks; anyone else notice how they “mysteriously go missing after a run through in the washing machine? I’ve got my conspiracy theories about that which I’ll share later with you. But back to the book…

Though the couple originally planned to move together from the east coast to the west, Jonathan heads off on his own (to start a tea cup museum? I wish I could make this up.), and Rosie stays home to sort out the world of her cantankerous grandmother, Soapie, who raised Rosie after her own mother’s death. Soapie is flirting with memory loss and other issues of the elderly, but still insists on her evening cocktails. a gal after my own heart. She also refuses Rosie’s help in selecting appropriate home health help, instead relying on a young man, with no credentials, no recommendations, and barely a job. So, Rosie moves in to discover the true situation and sort things out. Instead, she discovers that at age 44, with her lover on the other side of the country, and a cast of characters she never anticipated being in her life, she is pregnant. And the rest, as they say, is a good story in the telling.

This book was just so sweet and funny. Everything from Tony’s misuse of words and Soapie’s unique outlook on life, to George’s mad dancing skills and Jonathon’s, shall we say, skewed way of thinking. Every bit of it came together to create such a wacky yet beautiful story, one that was full of emotion and unexpected twists and turns.

I would give The Opposite of Maybe two giant thumbs up, 4.5 out of 5 stars on the Wendi scale.

Speaking of good books, did you hear the news? My girl J.K. Rowling just released another short (emphasis on short) story, a short blob about Celestina Warbeck, a singing sorceress and Molly Weasley’s favorite singer. The character doesn’t appear in any of the seven Harry Potter books, but Rowling says she’s one of her favorite “off-stage” characters.  You can read the new story at Pottermore if you’re a member (and if you’re not, then we obviously cannot be friends. Just kidding. But really, what are you waiting for?!) I’ve always wondered if Rowling wouldn’t one day go back to the HP Universe and explore it more in depth. I would love to see more stuff like this, stories about characters in the HP universe that don’t necessarily involve HP! But instead of just a few paragraphs, I would love, love, LOVE a full-on book.

J.K. if you’re reading this, it’s time girlfriend.

But while we’re all waiting with baited breath for the next HP book, give The Opposite of Maybe a go. I think you’ll really like it.

And if not, I will personally send you some of my famous, award-winning (I’ve got references) chocolate chip cookies.

 

Comments on: "A Book Review and More Harry Potter?!" (1)

  1. Any new Potter, no matter how short, is better than nothing.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

