My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

18666003

Hello friends.

I’ve got another great (and quick) read for you this week!

On Saturday, I was able to hit up my all-time favorite bookstore, The Tattered Cover, and spent some quality time perusing the shelves. I went in with the intention of only purchasing one, maybe two books TOPS.

Ha! Like that was ever going to happen.

The conversation I had with myself went a lot like this:

Me: I will only buy one book.

Me: I will only buy three books.

Me: Okay, okay. I will only buy 9 books.

I have a serious problem, guys.

A book-buying problem.

It’s gotten so bad that I have run out of space in my apartment, my floor acting as a make-shift bookshelf, paperbacks and hardcovers strewn about every which way and in every corner.

But hey, if that’s the worst of my problems, I’m pretty lucky.

One of the aforementioned books that I picked up was Just My Typo written by Drummond Moir. I’m usually not a big fan of non-fiction but this book tickled my interest. From the sublime to the ridiculous, Just My Typo is a hilarious collection of typographical errors, slips of the pen and embarrassing misprints which, like any typo of any kind, should never have happened, cannot be excused, and must not in any way be glorified.

But man am I glad that they did. And were.

 It was a quick read, but I have to admit that several parts had me laughing out loud. Typos of all kinds, all through the history of the written word. They range from awkward (oh, I am so glad it wasn’t me) to downright hilarious (still happy it wasn’t me). The grammar nerd in me found it equally cringe-worthy and hilarious!

There were only a few down sides to the book that I found:

1. It did become kind of repetitive, the errors and typos seeming to sound the same after the first few chapters.

2. Some of the errors were hard to figure out, even for a word-obsessed gal as myself. There was one instance where the typo was in the wrong title of a Dickens’ novel. I love me some Dickens (and no, that is not a euphemism for anything), but I didn’t quite get the error right away.

Besides those few misgivings, I found this book to be a fun and enjoyable read.

I mean, who doesn’t like reading about others’ mistakes, right?!

Be sure to check out Just My Typo and let me know what you tink!

I mean, think! 😉

 

Comments on: "Just My Typo: A Book Review" (1)

  1. Sounds like a fun read!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

