My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

My Legacy

untitled

I’ve been thinking a lot about who I am and what type of legacy I might leave behind someday.

Not that I am planning on going anywhere anytime soon, or at least I hope not. But thinking about who I am today, who I could be tomorrow, and who and how I will be remembered as does shed some light and perspective on the things I’ve done, the things I’ve said, and the way I have conducted myself up until now. Have I been the type of person I wanted to be? I was raised to be? I was born to be?

I’ve decided that when I’m gone, I hope that if people say one thing about me, it’s that I knew more than anyone else when it came to artisanal pickles.

Just kidding, I don’t know anything about artisanal pickles other than nom nom nom.

In all seriousness, I hope that if people say one thing about me, it’s that I was kind.

I want to be kinder than I am funny. Kinder than I am intelligent. Kinder than I am pretty. Kinder than I am a good writer or runner or baker [or candlestick maker].

I want to be kinder every day than I was the day before.

That’s what I hope people say about me when I’m gone.

How about you?

Comments on: "My Legacy" (5)

  1. Aw I love this! Being kind is so important and I feel like not enough people realize that.

  2. I’m not sure what I want people to say about me when I’m gone, but I’m not going to be around, so I’m not going to sweat it. Which means people will probably say I was a jerk who just didn’t care…

  3. Kind..Yep – that’s it – KIND! 🙂
    Although I can hear a few say other things. But – it’s all good.

  4. Love this, Wendi.

    My grandma would have been proud.

    I actually just made 24 jars of Grandma’s pickles. Considering it a tribute to HER legacy.

    Here’s the whole story and recipe.

    Grandma’s pickles.

    How does it compare to your recipe? I couldn’t find it on this post. 😦

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

