My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

We all need a little guidance sometimes, don’t we?

One of the wisest people I have ever known was my great-grandma Boulter. She lived to be 102 years old and was as spunky, quick-witted, funny and endearing at 102 as she probably was at 22. I used to love going to visit her, listening to her tell stories of when she was growing up; the things she saw, experienced and lived through. These talks were always conducted over a steady plate of chocolate-chip cookies and milk of course, just one of the many life-lessons she passed on to me:

“My dearest Wendi, an empty plate of cookies and a full belly are two of the greatest things in the world.”

I am happy to say that I have honed in on this piece of advice–I cannot go to bed to this day without a little (or a lot) milk and cookie action.

There are many things that my great-grandma taught me:

Smiles are free; give as often and as much as you can.

The power of prayer in immeasurable.

A little lipstick goes a long way (this I never really followed, but I love how even in her old age, my grandma wasn’t shy of looking her best.)

There is power in forgiveness.

And my favorite piece of advice she ever gave me: “When you love, love with your whole self.”

Wise words from a very wise woman.

Speaking of wise women…

On a recent Reddit thread, older women were asked what advice they would give to their younger counterparts. Here’s the 8 pearls of wisdom they offered:

Joanna Kai

#1. You’ll learn when something isn’t worth your energy. “It’s amazing how many things fix themselves. It’s even more amazing simply acknowledging that maybe it simply isn’t any of my business.”

#2. In your 20s, you’re still maturing and changing as a person. “There is a huge amount of personal growth throughout your 20s. Someday you’ll look back on your 20s and be like ‘OH HELLLL NO’”

#3. Don’t worry about aging. “Life is a process, and youth isn’t the be-all and end-all of a woman’s existence.”

#4. Things probably won’t go the way you expected them to. “We all have a great plan, then stuff happens.”

#5. Don’t give yourself a deadline for major milestones. “I used to think that if I did not have kids or find ‘the one’ it would mean that I failed. But that is not the case. It is perfectly fine to be single at 30, and still figuring things out. Being single does not mean that I am not worth it.”

#6. Relationships don’t stay the same for very long. “Relationships never ever stop changing, nor do people.”

#7. You might start caring less about certain things as you get older — and that’s okay. “Many women in their 30s, myself included, start to feel more confident and happy with life. And a lot develop a ‘!#&@ it, I don’t care’ attitude toward others’ opinions, or a ‘f!#&@ it, I can handle this’ attitude toward problems.”

#8. Never become completely dependent on one person for your financial wellbeing. Men come and go. Do not put your life in their hands financially long-term, get a job and make sure that at any given moment you can provide for yourself and possibly for a child. Because anything can happen. Divorce, stroke, car crash, cheating — anything.

Credit: Huffington Post

Yes, yes, and yes! To all of the above!

Question of the day: What pieces of advice have you been given over the years?

 

 

Comments on: "8 Pieces Of Excellent Life Advice From People Who’ve Been There" (6)

  1. How wonderful that you got to spend priceless time with your great g’ma. 🙂

    Lots of wisdom shared in this post. Thanks!

  2. Speaking of chocolate chip cookies (and now I want one!), some of my mom’s best advice is that broken cookies have no calories. And I always eat the broken ones guilt-free 🙂

  3. The milestone one is a hard one for me. At 25 I feel as if what I planned and wanted to do, all didn’t happen, and sometimes that it is hard to digest. But I have to constantly think about how this is all the Lord’s plan. Thank you for the follow!

    • I totally know what you mean, girl. I am a planner by nature and take comfort in knowing what’s going to happen (or at least have an idea, a goal in mind). Unfortunately, life has a funny way of throwing some serious curve balls at you every once in a while. Like my mom always told me, you make plans and God just laughs. I guess that is what faith is; trusting and knowing that He has it all figured out for you, you just have to be patient. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

