My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

Hey guys!

Happy Tuesday 🙂

Soooooo….

There’s a very good chance I lost some of my sanity along the way–not that I had much to begin with–along with the addition of a few gray hairs…

….but I am so very proud and excited to say that I AM OFFICIALLY A MASTERS OF LIBRARY AND INFORMATION SCIENCE GRADUATE!!!! Being a full-time student AND going to work full-time WHILE trying to maintain some sense of a social life and not go completely bonkers was definitely a challenge but friends, I did it. Not only did I do it (and I will admit, I learned so much and had a great time along the way), but I kicked its booty! I was ended up getting an overall GPA of 4.0, graduating with honors at the top of my class. Mark that in the “Things I am Uber Proud Of” column for surely!

When I decided to go back to school, I was a little nervous. I was at a point in my life where I wasn’t really all that happy career-wise. I was thankful that I had a full-time job that paid well, but I woke up every day just dreading to go into work. I just felt that there was something I was meant to do, and working in the cut-throat world of advertising and marketing wasn’t it. It took some time and self-reflection to figure out what it was that really made me smile, what it was that I loved, what it was that I was good at and enjoyed doing.

I love books.

I love people.

I love inspiring the people I love to love books just as much as I do.

All that led me to this simple conclusion: I was born to be a librarian. I was born to ignite the imagination of others, to help them discover worlds of information, to be surrounded by possibility and knowledge.

Even though I knew what I had to do, taking this leap of faith and going back to school was scary. I was leaving something that was a for-sure thing, something that was stable.

Life is all about taking chances, chasing your dreams, and not leaving anything for regret. If you are lucky enough to find something that ignites a fire in you, a passion, a reason to wake up smiling every day, take my advice (I am in the information business after all; I know what I’m talking about…most of the time anyway) AND GO AFTER IT! Don’t let anyone or anything prevent you from making your dream a reality.

As the noted author Mark Twain famously once said, ““The two most important days in your life are the day you are born and the day you find out why.”

Comments on: "MASTER of the Universe" (7)

  1. Congrats! 🙂

  2. Woowhoo!
    Congratulations & best to you on whatever comes next. 🙂

  3. Courtney Taylor said:

    I love you soo much Wen, and I am soo beyond proud of everything you have accomplished! ((: ♡♡

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

