My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

Advertisers eat me up.

Honestly, whenever I leave the grocery store, I feel like I’ve just been had by the lot of them. I fully confess it too. I wheel in for some milk, just milk, and wheel out with a fat cart, (or buggie as they say down here in the south. I know, right?) loaded to the gills with Double Stuff Oreos, a super-sized jar of salsa, a gallon of cookie dough ice cream, and a bag of Cheetos. Most of the time forgetting the darn milk, the only thing that I went to the store for.oreos

It hits me like a hammer at the cash register, but by then, it’s too late.

So I reluctantly reach into my wallet, pull out my Brewers credit card, and pay the sad looking bill, my mind all the while flashing back to the Me of 15 minutes ago, a barely recognizable gal humming down the aisle and happily accepting little sample cups of drinkable yogurt from sweet old ladies in hairnets while casually tossing brightly-colored cheese bricks and nicely-packaged Chocolate bars into my shopping cart.

Oh, I am one happy camper amongst the misted lettuce heads and rows of freshly baked bread, but when I get to the front and get Cash Register slapped, it’s a whole different story.

If you’re with me, then you know that this is what makes it so great when you go to the store and the thing that you were going to buy is already on sale. Because suddenly, the tables are turned and now it’s you who is calling the shots.img_1292

“Oh, what’s this?” you ask innocently, approaching a towering display of toilet paper on sale for half price. “Half-off, really? Well that’s perfect because that’s all I came here for anyway. And hmm, you know what? May as well get seven extra dozen while I’m here too…Annnnnd I guess that’s everything for today.”

Then you mime making a big check mark on your grocery list and smile as you savor the moment ever so sweetly. Yes, now your wallet stays fat, your smile stays fresh, and you ride the fast lane straight to penny-pinching heaven.

AWESOME!

 

Comments on: "Life’s Little Awesomes: When the thing you were going to buy is already on sale" (4)

  1. If it wasn’t for my girlfriend, I would only buy flaming hot cheetos and peanut butter. Okay fine, deodorant too.

  2. Hey there, I think your blog is awesome! I have nominated you for a Liebster award. Check it out here : http://escapingadaydream.wordpress.com/2013/08/24/my-liebster-nominees/

    Keep blogging awesomeness

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

