My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

…he not only opens a door, but he has a plate of tacos waiting for you on the other side.

Through out my26 years of life, I have seen things, experienced things, and heard things that have made me ask the question, “Why?’why

“Why now?”

“Why not now?”

“Why me?”

“Why not me?”

When I think of the plan that God has mapped out for me, I get excited and curious. In all honesty, I also get frustrated sometimes. It’s like I am driving towards my destination, a road trip that has been both amazing and scary, easy and difficult. After all of the pit-stops, flat tires, wrong turns and pot holes, it looks like I am finally within reach of one of the marks on my life’s map, with gas (and a half a bag of Cheetos) to spare.

I can see my destination on the right when all of a sudden, God takes the wheel and makes a hard left.

I am confused. And a bit whip-lashed.  And upset because my half a bag of Cheetos is now sprawled across the floor of my car.

But I put back on my sunglasses, turn up the radio, and go for the ride.

I have faith that God is taking me in the direction where I need to go and that every mile, every experience, every moment that has led up to this point happened for a reason.

As most of you know, I was recently offered a position in Denver as a children’s librarian. I was so excited and ready to begin this next chapter (pun intended) in my life, working with children and books and children’s books. What more could a new young rock star librarian ask for?

Unfortunately, I had to make the very difficult decision to turn down the job. While it was a great opportunity, I wouldn’t have been able to make ends meet with the compensation they were offering to give me. This school, as well as a lot of libraries around the country have been hit hard with budget cuts, limiting the number of employees and services in which they can provide. It deeply saddens me that libraries and books are one of the first things sacrificed in these situations. This is actually of the things I want to try and change once I get established in my professional career. Everyone, especially children, deserve to have books and libraries at their disposal, no matter what!

Even though God may have steered me in a new direction, I am very hopeful. He must have a greater and better idea for where I should be. This whole experience just helps to reaffirm confidence in my ability to be a successful, integral, and amazing librarian and/or curator.

I potentially have an amazing opportunity working at the University of Minnesota as an Assistant Children’s Curator and couldn’t be more excited about that. In all honesty, I was kind of leaning towards this position all along. Maybe the big guy upstairs just had to step in a little bit, give me a little nudge, to help me realize what a wonderful “change of course” this might be. But if that doesn’t happen to work out, I know something equally as awesome will come my way.

I want to thank you all for your support and will most certainly keep you updated on everything and anything that may come my way.

I’ve got my tunes cranked up, my sunglasses on, and a full bag of Cheetos in my glove compartment.

Bring on the road trip!

Question of the day: Have you ever been faced with a “change in direction?” How did you handle it?

Comments on: "When God closes a window…" (4)

  1. Oh wow. Yep – this happens quite often in life. But – that’s ok. That’s the way life rolls sometimes. And – you can’t beat a window closing with a door opening & Jesus holding a plate of tacos on the other side 😉
    My last situation like this was when I left my job of 10 years back in Sept. I had just earned an extra week of vacation too. But – taking on the new job was better for my sanity. And – so far – so good. I’m less stressed – a lot less stressed with the job that I have now. And – I work around less negative type people. So- I’m good.
    Best to you with what comes your way…

    • Thank you so much, Rosy! And you are right; that is the way life roll sometimes. But I know that I made the right decision for me and that it will lead to something even greater! I am so glad that you are doing something now that you enjoy and love! You’re proof that things will all work out in the end 😉

  2. So sorry girlie! But I believe there must be bigger and better things in store for you. Keep us posted!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

