My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

The Terrific Two’s

happy-2nd-birthday

Oh my pretzels, guys!

This, That, and the Other Thing turns the big 2 today!

It seems like just yesterday that I started this little passion project of mine. What at first started out as an online diary of sorts, chronicling all of my crazy, funny, and amazing life moments, has really turned into much more than that. Over the past two years, I have grown.

As a person.

As a writer.

As a friend, and a sister, and a student, and a dreamer.

I have gone through so much these last two years, the highest of highs, the lowest of lows, and all of the in-betweens. Looking back, I can’t believe how much has changed, how much I have changed. And you guys have been there with me, every step of the way!

To all of my friends, my family, my readers and fans.

Thank you for sticking with me, for inspiring me, for making me smile and laugh and strive to be better.

If the last two years are any indication, the next two years are sure to bring many surprises and I for one cannot wait to share them with you!

Now.

You can’t have a birthday without cupcakes, right?!

Right.

To celebrate This, That, and the Other Thang’s 2nd birthday (or the fact that it’s officially a week before the Brewer’s opening day, or that it’s Sunday, or that you successfully fulled off matching socks today, or, well, do you really have to have a reason to make cupcakes? I didn’t think so.), I decided to share with you one of my fav’s πŸ™‚cupcake-taste-testing-and-painting-party-15

Ahh, who can resist a cute mini cupcake with colorful confetti sprinkles?? A simple vanilla cupcake with vanilla buttercream frosting is my absolute, 100%, no-holds-bar favorite kind of cupcake.

They’re cute and tiny and colorful and remind me of the Easter parties we used to have in elementary school. And…the good thing about making them pint-sized is that you don’t have to feel guilty about eating 2 5.

I used Sweetapolita’s Fluffy Vanilla Cake recipe for these cupcakes, and I’m going to just send you over there to get it. The cupcakes were gorgeous, light, airy, fluffy, and impossibly moist. Everything that this girl wants in a vanilla cupcake. Even when made mini β€” and that my friends is hard to do! A perfect vanilla cupcake.

I topped them with my new obsession: Cool Whip frosting, guys! 601518_532464950137632_287113732_n

I am telling you, this stuff is lethal. I’m talking grab-a-spoon-and-go-to-town lethal!

It’s so light and fluffy and tastes ahhhmazing!

Once your cupcakes are cool (wait at least a half-hour to an hour to let your cuppycakes completely cool down), lather on some of that delicious frosting, making sure to lick the spoon once you’re done, and then sprinkle your, um, sprinkles on top πŸ™‚

Pour yourself a big ‘ol glass of milk, plate up a couple of these diddies and ENJOY!fluffy-vanilla-funfetti-cupcake

Have a great rest of your night everybody! And thank you again! You all are the bomb.com πŸ™‚

 

Comments on: "The Terrific Two’s" (12)

  1. Congrats girl!!! 2 years is so exciting:) And those cupcakes look amazing!

  2. Coincidence! Today my boyfriend was feeling sick so I went over to his apartment to take care of him. I baked him RED VELVET CUPCAKES WITH BUTTERCREAM FROSTING and I must say, sorry Wendi, RED VELVET WINS EVERYTHING.

    • You are too sweet (pun intended)! I totally think the cupcake should be the new chicken soup. You want to know something terrible? I’ve never had red velvet cake. I know! It’s always been because usually they are always topped with nasty cream cheese frosting. But with buttercream? Now that is something I could definitely make an exception for. I think I have a cold coming on πŸ˜‰

  3. Happy 2 & Thanks you for the cupcake πŸ™‚
    As a kid – I used to sneak tastings of Cool Whip all the time. This stuff is so goooooooood!

  4. Happy Happy Happy Birthday!!! Big hugs and thanks for the drool-inducing cupcake shots. Made my cereal seem particularly boring this morning.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

