My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

Hello hello hello!

How are all of my lovely peeps doing this fine Friday-eve? Can you believe it’s the last day of February already?! Holy guacamole! So far this year has been flying by so gosh darn fast, but it has also been pretty darn awesome. In fact, there are a lot of things about not only this year, but about life in general that are pretty awesome.

The other day I was having a conversation with one of my (awesome) friends and we touched on the fact that sometimes, the simplest of things in life are what really make our every days and nights so great. In fact, these things can be so simple sometimes that we tend to take them for granted, breeze right by them without taking the time to smell smile the roses, and soak those moments up to the fullest. I have to say that I am guilty of this very thing (although I am getting better about that).

We all live busy lives; school work, kids, spouses, boyfriends/girlfriends, pets, traffic, grocery shopping and cleaning. All of these things are awesome in their own right, but sometimes these BIG awesome  things take up so much time and space that we forget about those poor LITTLE awesome things.

Have no fear…WENDI is here!

(In case you guys didn’t know, my alter ego is Wonder Wendi, the cape-wearing, hot pink tights-sporting super-heroine, fighting frowns and spreading awesomeness everywhere I go! Superman and I are tight like, well, spandex. Just go with me here…).

As part of my super-heroine duties, I only feel it necessary to share some of life’s little awesomes, reminding you to slow down and savor every stinkin’ moment when you can. Or, a thought to pull out of your pocket on those oh so horrible, not good, rotten, terrible blech days (which we all have from time to time…or any Monday. This reminds me, who is with me in making starting a petition to make Monday’s optional?! Am I right, people?!).

Once a week I will present you with a different “life awesome”. To make this even more fun, please feel free to contact me with your own suggestions: What are your little awesome things? I’ll take your ideas and share them with the rest of the class to create a BIG little awesome list 🙂

This week’s awesome: Bailing on a toboggan.

Growing up in the frozen tundra of Wisconsin, sledding in the winter was one of my favorite things to do. I remember getting all of my friends together, our toboggans, tubes and in some cases, our cafeteria trays (sorry UW-Stout Food Service Employees)  in tow and hitting up the nearest and steepest snow-covered hill. SO much fun! When I was six (okay, mayyyybe was just last year), I rode in the front seat of a toboggan that ended up losing control and steering sideways into a barbed wire fence. My forehead shredded (think mozzarella on a cheese grater) and hot tears racing down my cheeks, I learned at that moment that things can unravel real quick on those steep, snow covered hills.bail-bail-bail

Yes, a rocky start and some poor weight distribution push the toboggan hard into the slick and slippery snow which sprays sharp ice chunks into your eyes and ears (and down your shirt—BRR!). Things get swervy when your buddy jumps off the back which causes you to then lose complete control and gain speed just in time to notice the creek bed coming up quicker than quick sand in front of you. Oh sugar.

You have no choice at this point.

Even though it means hitting the ground hard, twisting your ankle and possibly rolling down half of the hill (losing your pants in the process–don’t ask), you gotta do it. You just gotta do it.bail-on-a-toboggan1

Bail for the moment. Bail for the memories.

And bail for your life.

Awesome!

Have a great night friends! And if you get a chance, put on your snowpants, grab our sled and do some major bailing!

Question of the day: Have you ever gone tobogganing? Are you a bailer or a hang-on-for-dear-lifer? What are some your “little awesomes”?

 

 

 

 

 

Comments on: "Life’s Little Awesomes: Bailing on a Toboggan" (1)

  1. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this fantastic blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to new updates and will share this blog with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

