My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

My New Year’s Wish

happy_new_year_charlie_brown

As we approach the end of 2012 and embark on a new year, a fresh start, a grand beginning, I have one final parting thought for all of you….

Every new year people make resolutions to change aspects of themselves they believe are negative. A majority of people revert back to how they were before and feel like failures. This year I challenge you to a new resolution. I challenge you to just be yourself.

New Years to many is the prelude to second chances, new beginnings and fresh starts. If you think about it, that is what life is all about isn’t. But why wait until December 31st of  every year’s end to challenge yourself to new experiences, opportunities and goals? In the same respect, why pressure yourself to do things that you don’t think you are ready for or even need to do?

Instead of focusing on the negatives, think of the positives; all of the exciting things, wonderful things, things that will make you happy and fulfilled in the new year to come. And once you have thought of those things, go after them! Don’t hold back! But most importantly, DO NOT feel badly if you don’t accomplish them right away or even at all.

The major lesson that I have learned this year is that when you are ready to do something, when God is ready for you do do something, you will. It took me nearly ten years of my life, 10 YEARS, to finally be “ready” to kick my roommate, my eating disorder to the curb once and for all. I struggled for so long, fought and battled and raged war on ED, often feeling defeated or even hopeless that the day when I would be healthy and happy and ED-free would ever come.

But you know what?

That day came!

It finally came!!!537524_911715843832_1708376582_n

2012 was a year of victory, of accomplishment, of triumph and opportunity. It was a year that I kicked some serious ED ass (pardon my French). It was a year that I finally began to live. I took off my foggy glasses, tore the chains from my hands and lifted that ginormous boulder from the top of my shoulders. It wasn’t easy by any means; in fact, it probably was one of the hardest years of my life, but it was because of that struggle, that fight and that war that I am where I am today, this December 31st, 2012 a whole new gal!551502_876808678072_1414670172_n

A gal who isn’t afraid to go to town on a giant burger and fries.

A gal who doesn’t stress about the size of her pants.

A gal who appreciates every waking moment for what it is, not what it could be or was.545493_963375916632_828531675_n

In this thing called life, there are no definite rules; we can make the best or the worst of it. I hope you make the best of it. And I hope you see things that startle you. I hope you feel things you never felt before. I hope you meet people with a different point of view. I hope you live a life that you’re proud of. And if by some chance you find that you’re not, I hope you have the strength to start all over again until you do.

Happy New Year friends!

Let’s make it great!

No, let’s make it the greatest!

Thank you to all of you, my dearest friends and family for being my rocks, my inspirations, my hope and my strength. This year wouldn’t have been what it was without all of you!!

Comments on: "My New Year’s Wish" (5)

  1. Happy New Year!!! I didn’t have the opportunity to know the old you, but I adore the new you!! You are a ray of sunshine and source of smiles and laughter. I’m so glad that this YOU is the YOU you came to be!!! Here’s to an amazing 2013!!!

  2. Happy New Year Wendi! 🙂

  3. My hope is to learn more about gratitude, enrich my life, and inspire those around me to do the same.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

