My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

Hey guys!

SO sorry for being MIA for the past two weeks or so.

But I promise.

I have a good excuse.

Actually, a couple of them.

The main reason I haven’t been sharing with you my cah-razy ins and outs of my day-to-days like I normally do is because there has been a death in the family. Happy Pappy, or HP as I liked to call her for short, was a friend, a confidant, and a very good laptop for nearly four years. We had our highs (she stuck with me as I desperately hunted for my first post-college big-girl job AND she was a big contributing factor in helping me write and complete my very first novel) and we had our lows (Virus Gate ’09 was not fun, nor was the time I accidentally spilled strawberry jam on her keys) but through it all, she remained tried and true. She was strong, but unfortunately her hard drive got the best of her and she was laid to rest in the great big Best Buy in the sky.

R.I.P. HP. You will be missed.

As with all deaths, there comes a time when you have to move on, relishing and holding on to the memories you once shared, but at the same time, looking forward to the future. I took some time to mourn and come Saturday, I will be geting a brand new Happy Pappy. To tell you the truth, it’s been kind of freeing not having a computer for a bit, but to tell you the truth, Saturday can’t come fast enough. It’s crazy how much you come to rely on the use of such things, how you almost need them simply to function. Remember when you DIDN’T have a computer at home? When you got up every morning with an exta spring in your step on the days when you knew you’d get to go to the computer lab at school to play The Oregon Trail? My how things, and times, have certainly changed…

The second reason why I’ve been absent is due to the fact that I am working my bum off–which is a great thing seeing as I now have to pay for a whole new laptop. Eesh. But I love my job and the people I work with which makes the world of difference when it comes to heading on out to work every day.

AND on top of that, I’ve been gearing up for school (which starts in two weeks!!!), doing some preliminary reading and have even begun research on my first assignment as a grad student. I am THE buggest dork, I know. But I am SO excited!!! I just couldn’t wait to dive right in, even before classes actually started.

AND finally…I was just offered an internship working at one of the public libaries in town!!! I couldn’t be more thrilled to get to shadow one of the Directors there, getting hands-on experience and training in the areas that I will be not only studying in school, but what I will eventually see myself doing once that ‘ol diploma is given 🙂

I will most certainly be a busy bee, but it will definitely be worth it! And I promise to never leave you guys in the dust. This, that and the other thang will be up front and center, giving you all the juicy details (like how the dude currently sitting across from me looks exactly like Prince Harry and how I otherwise would be excited to have him staring at me like he currently is if it not were for the Chicago Cubs hat he is wearing. And the way he kind of smells like feet. And rutabegas.)

Sorry to type and run (I’m currently writing this from said library where I will soon be working and my limit on the computer is tick-ticking down), but I promise I will be back sooner than you can say, and spell, backwards, four times, blindfolded…SUPERCALAFRAGILISTICEXPIELADOCIOUS.

Until (at least) Saturday…

Catch ya later, aligaters 🙂

 

Comments on: "Quicker than Bisquick Update" (3)

  1. Ew! He smells like a combination of feet and root vegetables? Yikes. I wonder what Prince Harry’s feet smell like. Gucci loafers? Probably expensive leather sweat.

    My HP was called Henry Pachyderm. Thankfully, he did not die. Rather, he has been passed on to my husband–who is not really a computer Geek like me–so, Henry has entered the relaxing stage of his life known as semi-retirement. My current buddy, Delbert (definitely a clue as to his brand name) gets no rest at all. I hope he doesn’t decide to go on work-to-rule. Or worse! A STRIKE!

    But seriously, congrats on loving your new job! And on getting your internship at an awesome place! And on just being an awesome person with a kick-ass sense of humour and for sharing it with us. And for promising to keep on sharing it!!

    • He was quite smelly to say the least. Cute, but smelly. Interesting question though…I do wonder what the fine piece of Prince that he is’ feet smell like….I imagine roses and freshly baked chocolate chip cookies. Althought come to think of it, that combo would be kinda funky.

      Good luck with your Delbert. He sounds like a fine man and I only wish you as much happiness as Henry once gave you 😉

      Speaking of retirement…not gonna lie…that sounds ahhhhmazing! Good thing is I only have to wait a good, oh, 30-40 years before I can do the same ha!

      And thanks so much, hon! You are pretty darn awesome yourself!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

