My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

Raise your hands if you ever have found yourself complaining.

Don’t worry. My hand is totally raising’ the roof as we speak.

Now I don’t do it often, but sometimes I just get in this ‘Whoa is me’ funk; like I have been given the worst of the worst deck of cards, that my Magic 8 ball is stuck on ‘Cannot Determine’ mode, that my life is Brawny paper towel tough–and that’s saying something! I mean have you seen those towels?! They’re amazingly strong!

It’s easy to get stuck in that mode, to let a couple of stresses and silly worries prevent you from really appreciating how amazing your life truly is. Trust me, I know. Let me give you an example: just yesterday I complained like a mo’ fo’ because I got stuck in lovely Atlanta traffic for nearly two hours, sitting, nay, melting in my non-air conditioned car as I moved down I-95 at a bustling pace of 5 MPH. I was already running late to meet some friends and by the time I got to the restaurant, I looked like I had run a marathon…on the sun, sweating in place I didn’t know I could sweat. They also had almost finished eating (which I don’t blame for doing one bit because I was more than fashionably late) which left me to awkwardly slam down a sandwich with Tasmanian devil speed. And just to add insult to injury, in the hustle and bustle of running into the restaurant, I totes forgot to turn off my car lights which lead to me returning to a dead battery post-dinner.

Ugh. Fudge my life. Actually, a little fudge in my life sounds pretty good right about now 😉

Are you guys rolling your eyes? Trust me. I am too. I’m pathetic. But the first step is admitting you have a problem right? Right.

Here are some tips that I’ve adopted that will help you to stop feeling so sorry for yourself and quite the complaining–or complaining as much…

1. Watch Grey’s anatomy.No really, it helps. I mean, how can you feel bad for yourself when you live in a world where this degree of beauty exists?

RIP Denny. RIP.

and also because Grey’s Anatomy can be kind of depressing. There are so many tragic stories in each episode that really can help to put things in perspective and make you realize:  man, life isn’t that darn bad.

2. Think of how annoying it can be when you listen to other people complain about their problems. No one wants to be “that girl” or “that guy”.

3. Transform negatives in to positives: I got stuck in traffic for two hours? Not exactly what I was planning to do with my Monday night but hey, I had time to listen to some rocking tunes, relax a bit and clean out my pores with all of the intense sweating I did (it was more beneficial I think than any sauna could do anyday…and it was free!).

My car battery died? I got to show off my impressive car jumping skills to all of the dudes in my group. And let me tell you, totally worked 😉

4. Write about it. I’ve become a journaling addict recently! I’ve found that the simple process of writing about what I’m stressed/complaining over really helps me to release and forget all of that negative energy. Plus this blog is kind of a neat way to do all of that, as well as reach out to all of you who may be dealing with some of the same shtuff, different day things I am.

5. Accept adversity as a part of life. I could give a prolonged spiel about the inevitability of suffering and how it makes us stronger, but I don’t think anyone can articulate it better than Eric Matthews…

Eric the wise 🙂

But really. Life is filled with challenges and if getting stuck in bumper-to-bumper traffic is the most that I have to complain about, then I’m spoiled with good fortune and really need to take a freaking chill pill already.

See, I feel better already 🙂

Questions of the Day: What was the last thing you found yourself complaining about? Please. Make me feel better about whining over the endless amounts of Kardashian shows that are on 24/7. Ack!!

Any more tips on how to stop feeling sorry for yourself?

Comments on: "Life’s Tough: Get a Helmet" (6)

  1. I complain about others not using common courtesy or common sense. I just don’t get it. I complain about lazies. I feel better after I do it too. In those cases – I can’t change how others are – so a complaint to get the build up off my chest helps me. Call it selfish I guess.
    Ok – my tip – try to avoid the negative people if you can. I got rid of the ones I could. The ones I couldn’t/can’t – I deal with one day at a time.

    • I hear ya there! And you are so right; you can’t change others but you can change how you react to them. And if that happens to help you feel better, even better 🙂
      LOVE your tip too girl. It is hard sometimes to be around negative people for sure and in those cases where you can’t a) change their attitude or b) ignore them completely, you can take what they throw at you and turn it around to make your life seem even greater! At least that’s what I try to do (if I can’t help them to realize it for themselves first).

  2. Wish I could send you a picture here cause I have the perfect one to add… I will rebog this and add it there lol…

  3. Reblogged this on My Blog and commented:
    In response I have given you your helmet…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

