My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

Hey friends!

Today at work, I ran into THE cutie-pa-tutiest little girl that you ever did see. Her name was Emma (with two ‘Ms’ which she made sure to tell me) and she was four years old (which she showed me by sticking up three and a half fingers–her pinky was a little late to the party). As I was walking around the dining room at Panera, saying hi to the customers and making sure everyone was having a good time and had what they needed, little Emma caught my eye. She was busy eating a chocolate chip cookie, most of which ended up on her face and I just had to giggle. I walked over to the table where her and her mom were sitting and said hi. Emma looked up at me and said, “You are really tall. I think you can be my friend. Do want some cookie?”

Oh…couldn’t you just eat her up?!

I smiled and said, “Why thank you sweety. I am very tall and I would be honored to be your friend.”

She laughed and told her mom, “The tall girl is going to be my cookie friend!”

I wanted to scoop her up and take her home with me but I think that might be against company policy ;0)

SO CUTE!

My experience with little Emma earlier today got me thinking about how truly amazing children are.

Why are they so happy naturally and always down for a good time?

Why are they so accepting of everyone around them and why do they laugh 8 times more than adults every day?

1-They eat when they are hungry and stop when they are full. Food isn’t a drug for them or a way to COPE with life situations. It is there to be enjoyed and once they are done eating they do not feel guilt even if they ate two cookies 🙂

2-They run for fun. Not because they have to or because they are obsessed with burning calories but because they love the way it makes them feel.

3- They have not yet let the media tell them they are not good enough. They think they are beautiful and they are able to love others easily because they love themselves first.

4- They love candy almost as much as I do and of course that makes you happy right?

5- They serve others as much as they can with their limited resources.

Nothing like a child to make you remember what is really important in life. The light of Christ truly shines in their eyes. I think we could all take a cue from these youngsters. Ahh to be a kid again…

Question of the day: What is your favorite childhood characteristic?

 

Comments on: "Ahh To Be a Kid Again…" (2)

  1. Living life without a care in the world.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

