My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

Pond de i-Pod

I love looking at guy’s i-pods.

And no, that is not a euphemism for anything 😉

I really think that you can tell a lot about a person by the kind of tunage they listen to, the bands and artists that they can’t help but jam to in the car and shower (and if you’re anything like me, the aisles of Target and your local grocery store). I love music, the way it can take you back to a time and place in your life, can make you cry, make you smile, can even make you get out on the dance floor and bust a move. Music is passionate. Music is inspiring. Music is powerful.

It is also so very dynamic.

And ever-changing which is one of the things that I love most about it.  There are the classics of course–Styx, The Beatles, Queen, AC/DC and Journey are all some of my fav’s–that will always be the rocking classics that they are, eternally recognized and pumped through the speakers. Known by everyone (or should be known by everyone).

There are also the bands and artists, types and genres of music that evolve in the here and nows, musical movements spurred by things like our current zeitgeist, pop culture, films, and even social media. I love more the feeling right after I get done stocking my i-pod with a whole new plethora of tunes. I literally walk around with my headphones permanently affixed to my ears for days, hairbrushing (and probably butchering in the process) the heck out of my awesome new songs. 

When it comes to music preferences, I am about as random and varied as they come. If you were to steal my pod and take a listen to some of my music library, you’d find a melting pot (Not the restaurant. Although, have you been? Their chocolate madness fondue is amazeballs!) of artists and albums, songs and genres of music. This chica has got a butt load of old school rock (Queen, Chicago, Rolling Stones, KISS, Meatloaf, Styx, Pink Floyd and Bon Jovi to name a few), some rap (love me some Eminem, Jay-Z, Flo Rida, Lil Wayne, Luda, P. Diddy–or is he Puffy now?), a bunch-o-crunch of scream-o punk rock (Red Jumpsuit, Linkin Park, Offspring, Breaking Benjamin, 30 Seconds to Mars), some alternative (FUN, Mumford and Sons, Bon Iver, Ryan Adams) some pop (Hanson, Gaga, Maroon 5, Rihanna, Nicki Minaj, Blink 182, Green Day, Jason Mraz, Adele, Backstreet Boys and my boys N’Sync) and even a little country (Rascal Flatts, Carrie Underwood and of course you got to have a little Garth Brooks).

I love hearing new artists and types of songs and am always on the search for great music to make my ears smile.

Earlier today, I went ahead and took a little peak-see at one of my friend’s i-pods. We will call him Shmenjamen. Ben, I mean Shmenjamen, left his pod unarmed and I couldn’t help but give in to my curiosity and check out what kind of tunes he was jamming to as of late. I found his playlists chock full of artists like Kanye, Foo Fighters, Hinder, Stained, Fort Minor and T-Pain…nothing to unusual and all great bands. I continued to flip through his library when I came to something I hadn’t expected, something that made me like him even more, something that I am sure he would DENY DENY DENY if ever asked…

I came upon, I do not lie, the complete works of one Kelly Clarkson, Britney Spears, and even a little of my girl Celine Dion.

Who would have thought that my big ‘ol rough and tough, macho, football playing, beer drinking, and adrenaline junkie of a friend jammed to the likes of ‘What Doesn’t Kill You Makes You Stronger, ‘Baby One More Time’ and the piece de resistance…’My Heart Will Go On’?

I loved that!

Ben, I mean Shmenjamen, wasn’t afraid to rock a little Britney or Celine (Now if that was all he had, or if he was a Be-Lieber, I might be a little worried).

I felt a little guilty about snooping so I of course gave Shmen my i-pod and let him take a look and listen to what I was jamming to. He nearly passed out when he saw that I was into hardcore bands like Five Finger Death Punch and Everclear.

Listening to someone’s i-pod is almost a kin to peering into someone’s soul, seeing, or hearing, things that are not always visible on the surface. You really can’t judge a book by its cover. Or in this case, a person by their pod.  It is totally acceptable to like rap and country, pop and rock, classical and alternative. You don’t just have to choose one or the other. You can rock and you can roll.

As someone once said, actually, I’m not sure if anyone has ever said this, but I am saying it right now…”The music doesn’t make you. You make the music.”

Wow. That was kind of deep. You could say it was ‘Rolling in the Deep’ (thank you Adele).

Don’t be afraid to go out and make your music, gosh darn it!

But please, I beg of you….no Justin Bieber 😉

Question of the day: What jams are on your playlists?

Do you judge a person by their pod?

 

 

Comments on: "Pond de i-Pod" (4)

  1. A sprinkling of Britney Spears or Celine Dion is fine, as long as it’s not a steady diet. I usually listen to Everclear, 5DP, A7X, Guns ‘n Roses (the Appetite for Destruction/Use Your Illusion line-up), etc., but I do have a little of the above. and the only reason I have ‘Baby, One More Time’ is that one of my friends has changed the lyrics and sings them when we go to karaoke. It’s friggin’ awesome!

    • Haha I couldn’t agree more with you on that. I can only take a little Brit and Celine myself. As for your line up, I am pretty impressed. I LOVE me some Everclear and Guns ‘n Roses! In fact, Sweet Child of Mine is jamming through my speakers as we, well, speak lol.

      P.S. I am dying to hear your friend’s version of ‘Baby One More Time’! 😉

  2. What kind of jams are on my playlist? Well, Simon & Garfunkel has a huge presence, as well as the Beatles and Queen. But my non-guilty pleasure is SHOWTUNES! I LOVE MUSICALS. There, I said it. My new favorite musical soundtrack is The Book Of Mormon (which I am going to be seeing in a week, omg). If you’re into music that is hilarious and very fun to sing in the shower, I recommend downloading it.

    Do I judge a person by what’s on their ipod? Well, honestly, I’ve never really looked at anyone’s ipod before. BUT! When I was a freshman in college I dated a guy– let’s call him Shmatt– and I was playing around with his iTunes on his computer and clicked on the “Most Played” playlist and the most played song was “thnks fr th mmrs” by Fallout Boy. I never let him live that down.

    • I LOVE your playlist darlin’!! I too have been known to rock out to some show tunes myself (who doesn’t love a little, or a lot, of Phantom, Lion King, Wicked and Hair?!). I recently caught The Book of Mormon on my sirius xm radio and it was hilarious! I am so very jealous that you get to go see it in a week. Let me know how it is!!!

      P.S. Shmatt had it going on! I am ashamed to admit that my freshman year of college, “thnks fr th mmrs” was my jam lol. Ohhh Fallout Boy… 😉

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

