My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

Hi guys! I hope you all had a great weekend! Did you do anything special?

I had an amazing couple of days celebrating my fantabulous momma. On Saturday, both my sister and I surprised our mom and drove to Warner Robins to wine, dine and spoil her rotten. It had been a good while since all four of the crazy Hansen bunch were together; we are all working and living all across the peach state now which makes getting together often kind of hard. It was super nice to have the whole fam together once again, silly shenanigans–which you can count on, will be many–and all.

Saturday night, after a yummy dinner of my mom’s infamous homemade chicken noodle soup, Pillsbury’s infamous crescent rolls, and a little custard, heavy on the whipped cream, for dessert, we put on our super chic shoes and went bowling.

True and sad funny story: I used to be the bowling queen. Growing up, we had a bowling alley called Mountain Lanes which was, like, the IT spot in all of Wausau. It was the place to be, and be seen (or at least that’s what I and the rest of my uber cool pals told ourselves). From the ages of 5-8, I literally had the wickedest bowling birthday parties at said Mountain Lanes, corny party hats, streamers, rubbery pizza and monogrammed cake in all. Three years in a row, much to their dismay, all of my friends went to their mailboxes only to receive Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle, Barbie and Power Ranger birthday invitations announcing the date and time of my annual bowling birthday extravaganza. Three years. I later grew up to have more sophisticated birthday parties of course (the Hanson night at the roller rink party of ’98 comes to mind), but I will always have a soft spot for the sweet, sweet days of Mountain Lanes.

Let me preface this past Saturday night’s bowling excursion by saying that I am no longer the bowling queen that I once was. In fact, before that night, I hadn’t hit the lanes since I was a senior in college over 4 years ago. Needless to say, starting off, I was a bita lot rusty.

Big fry, large fry :)

Big fry, small fry

My B-E-A-Utiful momma and I getting our bowl on!

Like mother…

….like daughter

No matter how bad we did (I can confidently say that none of us have any plans of going pro anytime soon), we all had a ball…pun intended. Just spending time with my family–making fun of my sister’s bowling injury (move over football, we’ve got a new contender for most dangerous sport), proudly winning the belching war (thank you, thank you very much) and having a blast–these are the small moments in life that make big memories. These are the moments that count. These are the things that really matter.

Although I have to brag just a little bit…I almost, almost kicked everyone’s bums to Timbuctoo our last game.

But like I said, the score doesn’t matter.

But dudsies!!! I almost beat everyone! 😉

On Sunday, after showering one miss Darcy ‘momma de jour’ Hansen with gifts, we took her out for a lovely Mother’s Day brunch. We went to this quaint little french restaurant called The Back Burner in Macon, GA. In 2009, the restaurant’s chef, Christian Losito was given the Foodie Award (which is basically the culinary equivalent of the Oscars) and upon digging in to our delicious, mouth-watering and smack yo’ momma good food, it was clear as chocolate cake (which by the way, was also to. die. for.).

I am so incredibly lucky, maybe even the luckiest, to have THE greatest mom in the world, nay, the Universe. There are no words to describe how thankful I am for everything that she has done, that she continues to do for me and the rest of my family. In my opinion, everyday should be Mother’s Day, celebrating and giving thanks and adoration for all that these wonderful women do, their big hearts and their even bigger hugs. I can only hope that one day, I will be half the mother, half the woman, my beautiful mom is.

Even if she stinks at bowling 😉

Questions of the day: What did you do to celebrate the mom(s) in your life?

What are some of your fondest/silliest birthday party memories?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

