My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

Breakfast For Dinner

Happy Monday guys!

Breakfast has got to be, hands (and feet) down, my all time favorite meal of the day. So much so in fact that I not only eat breakfast for, well, breakfast, but I often times have it for lunch and dinner as well. Pancakes, scrambled eggs (with lots of maple syrup on top. If you’ve never had this amazing concoction, do. it. now! Trust me. It sounds a bit wonky and weird, but it is D-licious!!!), waffles, cereal, lots and lots of cereal, and one of my favorite go-to breakfast delights…french toast!

One of my favorite memories is standing against the kitchen counter on my tippy toes when I was just a wee one, helping my mom make french toast for breakfast. While she cracked the eggs and poured the milk and sugar in a bowl, I got to ‘pinch’ in the secret last ingredient, the cinnamon, and stir, stir, stir it all together. I also got assigned the job of being the ‘dunker’, placing each piece of bread in the sweet custard mixture. Michael Jordan may have been one of the greats, but I had some mad dunking skills too. Just saying 😉

To this day, whenever I make french toast, I think of my mom and those early Sunday mornings standing in our little kitchen. That’s one of the neat things about food; there are so many memories and experiences, a time and a place associated with them that simply smelling or tasting can bring up once again.

Lately I’ve become quite the little mad scientist in the kitchen. It’s so much fun to cook and bake, t take old favorites and give them a unique and fun spin. Some of these experiments have turned out great…and some not so much (flavoring milk with Pixy Sticks sounded good at the time). But that’s what makes it interesting. And very fun.

One of these fun food experiments that did turn out pretty darn fantabulous, if I do say so myself, was my version of Banana Almond French Toast.

Now, to be fair, a few years ago I ate at a very cute and charming little cafe in Ashville, NC called The Corner Cafe with my mom for Mother’s Day. It was here where I had the most amazing Banana Walnut Streudel French Toast. The dish was sweet and so flavorful, made with doughy bread in a buttermilk and egg batter and topped almonds and whipped cream.You could literally taste the butter in each bite. It was flippin’ phenomenal!

Last night as I stood in my kitchen, staring mindlessly into the fridge, debating what I was going to make myself for din-din, I decided that breakfast sounded amazeballs! I took the idea of the amazing Corner Cafe breakfast treat and gave it the Wendi-spin.

I started by whisking two eggs and a splash of milk with 1 1/2 teaspoons of cinnamon. I dipped two pieces of whole wheat bread into the egg mixture before cooking them on the griddle.

While the French toast was cooking, I chopped up a banana and quickly cooked it on the griddle as well, which made my house smell amazing!

Once everything was done, I topped one piece of French toast with the warm bananas, added the other piece on top and sprinkled the dish with slivered almonds. Taddah!

Banana Almond Stuffed French Toast=YUM!!!

Banana Almond Stuffed French Toast=YUM!!!

Banana Nutty Goodness

Of course I topped everything with syrup. Buddy the Elf would have loved it! Afterall, according to him, the four main food groups are candy, candy canes, candy corn and syrup!

Breakfast, I mean breakner? suppfast? brinner? is served 🙂

Open wide!

I’ve got to say, I out-did myself on this little diddy. SO GOOD! Instead of sticking that frozen pizza in the oven or dialing up your favorite chinese place, think breakfast and whip up a batch of this banana almond french toast for supper tonight. You’ll thank me later 😉

Question of the day: What is your favorite meal of the day?

Comments on: "Breakfast For Dinner" (6)

  1. Looks great, and I’m with you, breakfast rules.

  2. Jenn Lewis said:

    looks amazing! I’m definitely going to have to try this one!

  3. Oh I love brinner!!!! This looks beautiful, and tasty too! Shoot, can I forego my dinner that’s on the stove as we speak and make this instead?

    • Hahaha me too girl! It’s the best, especially when brinner calls for anything covered in maple syrup and butter 😉
      I fully give you permission to forego whatever you may be cooking (although I am guessing it is pretty tasty in and of itself) and make this amazing french toast! Or…midnight snack? Lol

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

