My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

PB&J Day

Hey guys!

And a very happy National Peanut Butter & Jelly Day to ya!

Growing up, peanut butter and jelly sandwiches were a staple in my daily diet. Oh who am I kidding? They still are. There is nothing better in my opinion than two pieces bread (or a tortilla, or an english muffin, or a bagel, or a pita, or crackers…the vehicle for this creamy, peanut buttery and fruity treat are endless!), slathered this with a little Jif (or my ultimate favorite, White Chocolate Wonderful from the Peanut Butter & Co.), crunchy or creamy depending on how you roll, I mean spread, and some homemade strawberry jam, seeds and all. D-LISH!

Although you might prefer the classic peanut butter and jelly packed in a brown paper bag, there are many ways that you can make an equally, and more inventive, tasty sammy. For example, one of my new favorite go-to snacks, thanks to my sister Lindsay, is a toasted bagel spread with a little peanut butter and jam which is then topped with sliced bananas and granola.  The breakfast of champions, right there! It’s fun to use your noodle (speaking of noodles, I’ve just thought of a possibly great idea! Spaghetti with peanut butter and jelly sauce! Amazeballs!) and think beyond the norm. To give you some ideas on what I am talking about, I have found some updated versions of the sandwich.

Chefs from around the country very often use comfort foods like PB&J, as inspiration for new menu items.  Be brave and try one of the items below, or get creative and recreate your own concoction  in honor of this yummy national holiday:

1.  The Malibu Inn‘s Deep Fried PB&J:  Make this amazing sandwich at home by dipping your sandwich in pancake batter and deep-frying it.  Dust with powdered sugar for a finishing touch. Holy yum, Batman!

2.  Dirty Bird’s PB&J Wings:  These unusual fried wings are tossed in peanut sauce and then drizzle in strawberry sauce. Tres interessant.

3.  Grant Grill’s Peanut Butter Mousse Dessert:  Chef Chris Kurth has created a refined peanut butter dessert for grown-ups.  Strawberry basil ice cream gives a subtle nod to the strawberry jam that I used to help my mom make and jar every summer. Yummo!

4.  PBJ’s Smokin Goat: This Oregon-based cart offers a unique spin on the sacred sandwich, with kalamata olive bread, almond butter, bacon, goat cheese and fig jam. Doesn’t sound too appetizing but I guess I can’t knock it until I try it.

5.  Peanut Butter & Co’s Pregnant Lady:  Filled with peanut butter and pickles, this is totally a sandwich Snooki would love.

So what are you waiting for? Get in the kitchen and start making some sandwiches! 🙂

Here’s a little soundtrack for your cooking session (just try not to start dancing…I dare you!)

Hope your night is jam packed with fun!

Sorry, I just couldn’t resist 😉

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

