My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

Happy happy New Year everybody!

I don’t know about you, but my 2011 was a rollercoaster of a year, full of highs and lows, twists, turns and even a few loop-d-loops every once and again.

Some of the highs:

  • I started my very first ‘big girl’ job!
  • I made the big move to one of the greatest cities in the world, Milwaukee.
  • I got my very first apartment.
  • The Packers won the Superbowl AND my Brewers had an amazing season, almost making it to the World Series!
  • I became a hybrid version of Martha Stewart and Bob Vila, cooking, crafting, fixing my own toilet and changing my own oil.
  • I stared this blog and found out how passionate I am about writing.
  • I discovered finally what it is I want to do with my life and took the plunge to make that dream a reality.

Some of the lows:

  • I was fired from my very first ‘big girl’ job.
  • I made the big move back down to Georgia (temporarily… just until I start school in the fall).
  • I am living in my parents old house. It is huge. And a bear to keep clean. And is quite echo-y at times with just me and my pup Thunder living there.
  • My Brewers suffered a big blow, losing Prince Fielder (to the Cubbies most likely) and almost losing Braun for the first fifty games next season due to a steroid issue–come to find out, he was taking medication for a slight case of the Herp…oy vay.

Yes, this past year was a doozy. It was great at times and it was not so great at times. I guess that’s how life is though, full of surprises and experiences, both good and bad. God gives us challenges and throws us curve balls so that we can become stronger and wiser. He also does this (much to our dismay at times) so that we can truly appreciate what we have, the moments that make us laugh and smile and remember why our lives are such a gift and a blessing. I think that is one of the reasons I like reflecting on the past year; it puts into perspective where I was, where I am going and how far I have come and will go in the year to come.

Now that 2012 is upon us, many people take this time to make or set resolutions for themselves in the year to come. I never was real big on resolutions; the reason being: I somehow always manage to start strong in the beginning of the year (or at least for the first few weeks or so) and then slowly but surely lose motivation and end up breaking or not quite reaching the resolutions that I made which just makes me feel bad for not following through. It is quite the ordeal. While making resolutions is, in theory, a great idea, for me, it just never really works. That is why this year for the first time, I am starting what I am deeming: Mission 2012 (and sorry Tom Cruise, this mission is one I intend to accept and prove possible. I will leave all those other impossible ones to you and your skyscraper-scaling ways).

I think that if I set goals for myself, reachable and totally attainable goals, goals that I will continue all year round (starting right now, this first day of January), I will be more likely to reach them and not break into the temptation of slacking off mid-way through. So here we go, my Mission 2012 as follows:

Goal 1: Healthy, Happy and Whole

The biggest goals of this Mission 2012 is to finally get to a healthy, happy and whole place in my life. While most people are making resolutions to lose those extra fifteen pounds they collected over the past year, I am doing the exact opposite. I want more than anything to gain those extra fifteen pounds (plus a few extra if possible). I want to once again be that girl who had serious pipes and strong, runner’s legs. I want to have an actual woman’s body instead of the slightly boyish figure I now am sporting (Target isn’t selling J.Lo’s booty by any chance, are they?). I want to be able to chow down on that burger, fries and vanilla milkshake and NOT feel an ounce bad for doing it. I want to be able to spend a lazy day doing absolutely nothing and not feel guilty for not going for a run or swim. I want to be able to look into the mirror and say, “Yeah. I am pretty darn beautiful. I am strong and confident and I will kick your butt at a game of HORSE.” This is probably going to be THE hardest challenge I will ever have to face, but it is one that is worth every struggle or tear or frustration. It is one that is long overdue and that I deserve. I am SO ready to feel good on the inside as well as on the outside and it starts NOW!

Goal 2: Do something spontaneous, at least once a week.

I have always been a planner. It’s what I do. I like to know what is going to happen, where and when it is going to do so. I am not much for surprises and prefer to be in control of things. Sometimes this can be a good thing, but other times, not so much. This is why I am going to attempt to slowly break down the walls of my pocket planner. I want to be able to take life as it comes, to not be so consumed with what is happening tomorrow that I forget to miss out on today.

Goal 3: Learn to love myself

I know it sounds cheesy, but one of my biggest goals for this year is to be kinder to myself. I once was a really confident gal; a star-athlete, an academic scholar, a top-notch working professional. After this past year, my ego suffered a bit. I am not going to lie; without playing a sport or going to school or excelling at a job, I kind of became a little self-conscious. Of course I was still the same person–nothing could or will change who I am–I just didn’t feel like I was doing anything with my life to be proud of. Well that all changes TODAY! From now on, as silly as it may sound, I am going to wake up each day, look at myself in the mirror, and say at least one good thing about myself. I am a funny, kind, intelligent, giving, creative, and thoughtful person gosh darn it and should be proud of who I am, no matter if I am the track star (or not), getting a 4.0 GPA (or not), or receiving ‘Employee of the Month’ (or not). This one is going to be hard but it’s one I can and will do. Plus, I already have my quota for the next six days to get started 🙂

Goal 4: Go after what I want

This is the year I stop waiting and like Nike says, JUST DO IT. For so long, I have not gone after things in my life due to fear or apprehension. Because I didn’t want to be rejected or hurt, I avoided any possible attempt at following a dream or wish I had to instead stay in the ‘known’ and safe areas of my life. I have followed what I thought was the right path for me. I was too afraid to choose a different direction and go on an unwalked street because I am sometimes afraid of change. But who is to say what path I should take or if there is just one path? Change is a good thing sometimes, isn’t it? Starting today, I am going to try to take everything that I am afraid of doing and do them anyway, in spite of the fact. That life-long dream of one day working in a library or in a museum as an archivist surrounded by millions and millions of my beloved books–I am going to get my Master’s Degree in Library Science and finally DO IT. That one guy who I compare all other guys to, who I can’t get out of my head, my best friend, the one has my heart but doesn’t know it–I am going to DO IT and finally tell him how I feel. That short-story writing contest that I have thought about entering but never got around to it–I am going to DO IT and submit my latest story (or two). It is time that I stop fearing and start DOING! I am Wendi, hear me roar!

Goal 5: Become a team-player

One of the things I am most looking forward to doing this year is once again becoming part of a team…sports team that is. I can’t tell you how much I miss getting down and dirty in weekly softball games, showing off my mad David Beckhamm-like skills on the soccer field or just having a ball (pun intended) playing a little kickball with friends. I miss the games, I miss the action and competitiveness, and I miss the commadery. Not only will it be a fun way to be active, but it is a great way to meet people. Sign me up, coach!

 

Goal 6: Less Facebook, more Facetime

Facebook is great, it really is but there is something to be said about actually spending time with friends and family, face to face instead of through the screen of your Mac Book Pro. I miss grabbing a coffee with a pal and catching up on each other’s week or going for a walk  or catching a matinée with my sister, laughing hysterically over Will Ferrel’s latest hijinks. I vow to try to spend more time with my actual friends and family this year than my virtual ones. Sorry Mark Zuckerburg, but this chica’s stock in Facebook is going down.

Goal 6: Smile and laugh everyday

‘Nough said on this one 🙂

These goals are not all going to be easy to accomplish but they are not impossible. They are in fact, very attainable and completely doable. They are also goals that I have been trying to reach for quite some time now, not just within the past year. Mission 2012 is all about finally getting to the point in my life, one minute, one hour, one day at a time, where I can be the best person I can be. I can be the happiest and healthiest and butt-kickenest version of myself. 2012 is the year I reclaim my life and start LIVING!

I am not going to say it’s going to be a walk in the park. And I will most likely hit a road-block or two in this mission (hey, even Tom Cruise gets taken captive or has bombs to deactivate every once and again), but I will complete it. I may need your help along the way (in fact I know I will), but I will complete it.

I hope everyone had a great New Years today, but more importantly, that your year, all 365 days, are spent with the same gusto and positive oomph that you had going into 2012. Mission 2012…make it amazing!

Comments on: "New BegENDings: Mission 2012" (10)

  1. I’m proud of you, puppyshoes. Tell me how I can be supportive and I’m THERE. (And! Happy new year!)

    • Thanks oh so much darling! I am so very grateful for having such an amazing and supportive friend in my life. You make me want to be a better person and are always there, reminding me that it is possible. I hope you don’t mind me taking you up on that offer of calling you anytime lol. I love you to the moon and back sugarplum! And Happy New Year! 🙂

  2. HI Wendi, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! You are one strong determined person, I am so proud of you. With your determination you are going to meet everyone of your goals.
    Take it a day at a time, and get some help along the way, breaking up with Ed is going to be one of the most liberating things but hardest thing you are going to do. I know you can do it. I am praying for you. Much Love; Debbie

    • Hey Debbie! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you too!I hope it was everything that you had wanted and then some. I am so glad that baby david was able to spend his first holiday at home with his family. I can’t wait to meet the little guy! Thank you so much for all of your love and support. It means the world that you are cheering me on and gives me that extra boost and motivation to once and for all file those divorce papers. Dad and I read from the book you gave me every night and it is so very helpful. It is going to be the hardest things I have ever done but like you said, it will be the most liberating and freeing things I will ever do. Thank you again for all of your prayers. This is one goal that is none negotiable. I will reach it and I will finally be free and happy and healthy. Afterall, that’s just what Newts do. 🙂

  3. Jenn Lewis said:

    I’m right there with ya! I’m so proud of you and you do deserve to be happy and HEALTHY! We all do. I need to work on my health too… It’s hard and shameful to admit it’s still a problem after all these years, but I don’t want my 30’s wasted like my 20’s were to silly obsessions and compulsive exercise. I want to feel strong, not weak.
    We can do this girl! Let me know if I can help you in anyway. I’m here for you!

    • Thank you sweety! You are so right! This thing that has such powerful control over us is long-overdue for a serious kick in the butt…for good! I tried convincing myself and others that I was doing so much better but am but the truth is, I am in a bit of a funk again. We can do this together, I know we can. I know I don’t want to waste a second more of my life shieled by doubt and worry and self-consciousness. I want to enjoy any and everything and really start living, not just half-way but all the way. I am here for you too hun whenever you need me, anytime! The thing I am just relearning is that asking for help and support is NOT a sign of weakness but instead, a sign of true strength. I can’t do this alone and that is okay. I would love to chat with ya sometime later this week if you’re free lady and catch up. Remember, you deserve all the health and happiness in the world lady! Don’t give up! We can and will do this! ♥ you mucho!!!

      • Jenn Lewis said:

        I’m free all week! Have one more week off until school starts again 🙂 I would LOVE to chat with you my dear. And I am here for you anytime, day or night. I truly mean that.

      • Awesome posseum! I will plan on giving you a ring later this week if that’s alright, probs tomorrow or Wednesday. I can’t wait to catch up girl! And thank you; you don’t know how much that means to me. Love you!! xoxo

  4. Peggy Wilke said:

    Wendy, I religeously read your blog. You are an amazing writer and I am so blessed by knowing you. You are a very strong woman and this is your year. For every obstacle we face we grow stronger and stronger and God has a plan for you. That plan may not seem clear right now, but it’s there and the path he takes us on to get there is one that may make us scratch our head and ask “why?, why me?, why now?” I will keep you in my prayers that tthe path is smooth and the top of the mountain is fast approaching. You deserve it! Keep blogging…I love it!

    Peggy

    • Hey Peggy! You are so sweet and I am so very lucky and blessed to know you as well. It means so much that you are there for me and I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart for all of your thoughts, prayers and support. Without people like you, I don’t know what I would do. God does have a plan for me and although I am not quite sure what that is yet, I have faith that it is something great and truly amazing and I can’t wait to find out what it is. Until then, I am going to do my best to become the person he wanted me to be, the person he intended me to be. Love you! And I am so glad you have enjoyed reading my little blog that could. There is so much more to come 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

