My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

Hey guys!

I hope your Thursday evening is treating you well so far 🙂

How are we all doing on our Christmas preparations? I can’t believe it either but it’s true folks, we only have 17 more days till the big shabang, the birthday celebrations to beat all birthday celebrations…our Savior’s b-day…aka CHRISTMAS!!! Speaking of birthdays, can you imagine trying to top a cake with the number of candles equivalent to his holy age? Oofta, that would have to be one big cake…and I am thinking it would make for a slight fire hazard at that.

This is absolutely my favorite time of year. There is just something so magical and hopeful about the Christmas holiday; family and friends spending time with one another (yes, even crazy Uncle Bob and his wonky wandering eye), everyone feeling a bit more cheerful and giving, the belief that miracles can happen–after all, one of the biggest miracles occurred Christmas night in a little town called Bethlehem oh so many years ago–, the cookies and music and snow and of course…the decorations.

I have a confession to make…I tend to go all Martha Stewart when it comes to decorating for a holiday of any kind, but it is even more rampant when Christmas hits. I go jingle balls-to-the-walls with lights and wreaths and holly and mistletoe, candy canes and gingerbread houses and trees and ornaments. By the time I am finished going to town, my house looks as if the North Pole drank one too many hot toddies and threw up all over, spewing merriment and good cheer all over the place. I can’t help it; there is just something about this wonderful time of year that makes me go a bit batty. I remember back when my family lived in the chilly winters of Wisconsin, my mom and I would get all bundled up in our parkas, mittens and hats to tackle hanging the lights on our house. My dad to this day shudders whenever we ask him to do this decorative task. To say that he detests putting up lights would be an understatement. I think it all changed for him when he spent about four hours detangling the bulbs and hanging them up in the freezing cold only to discover they didn’t work–in the words of Homer Simpson…”Dohh!”). After that tragic but pretty funny incident, my mom and I took over the job and even though we may have lost a toe or finger to frost bite, ours was the best looking Christmafied house on the block, gosh darn it!

Yes, I have decorated pretty much everything in my past 24 Christmases…even myself (those sweaters are hot, if I do say so myself).

What a good-looking bunch we are!

I could pull off being Santa, don't you think?

 

My what big bulbs you have 😉

The only thing I haven’t really attempted or tried to spruce up was my car. This brings me to another installment of ‘Things That Make Me Go Hmm’. Apparently the ‘in’ thing to do this year is to dress up your vehicle for the holidays. Some of you may have seen Rudolph driving down Main Street or spotted perhaps one of Santa’s elves going through the drive-through at McDonald’s. While cute in their own way, I can’t completely say that I am gung ho-ho-ho on this new trend. Take a look at what I am talking about…

 

It's Rudolph! Although it may be dancer or Prancer...I can't tell if it's nose is red from this angle.

I could totally do that with my bug...or not.

Wowzas!

 

Holy Christmas Car Batman!

So what do you guys think? Are you a fan of dressing up your cars for Christmas or is it a tad too corny?

Have a great rest of your night everyone…and happy decorating!

Question of the day: Are you pro or no when it comes to decorating for Christmas?

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

