My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

Pardon My French

Bonjour mon amis! Quoi de neuf?

Pardon my French 😉

I just got done watching a ‘Friends’ episode dubbed in the language of love for funzzies. If you want to hear something funny, change the language settings on your TV to French and listen to Joey say, “How you doin?” in a brooding accent. Good stuff.  In middle school, I was selected along with some of my peers for an advanced language class that would transfer over to high school and eventually, give us college credit. We were given the option of taking either Spanish, German or French and I knew right away which I wanted to learn…Francaise baby! I have always loved this language; the culture, art and history of France, especially the city of Paris. Over all the others, I think it sounds the most fluid and romantic when spoken (German was just to flemy for my taste although probably a lot easier to perfect than the rolling of the tongue which if often required in French pronunciation–whenever I tried saying a word or phrase in this manner, I ended up making a weird tiger-roar type sound). I ended up studying the language of love for over five years while in school and have used all of my mad skills since then quite a lot actually…if quite a lot refers to being able to read the occasional back of my shampoo and perfume bottles, listening to and taking barking orders from my GPS (who now speaks French 24/7 due to a programming oops on my part) and how to eat the perfect crepe (I would get an A+ in this category, hands down).

Crepes + Nutella = a Partaayy in my mouth! Worth the trip just for these babies!

In all actuality, I don’t really speak, write or read hardly any French anymore; it’s true what they say: “It’s so easy to ‘lose it if you don’t use it’. This is why I have decided that I am going to try to spend some time every day familiarizing myself again with the language, whether that be speaking, hearing or reading it (and whether that just means the occasional shampoo bottle or dubbed Friends episode). I want to be sure that I can at least try to retain some of the skills I learned while in school. Plus, I want to look and sound impressive to the natives when I finally am able to take a trip to the city of lights.  I would hate to be the stereotypical American tourist who, when at a restaurant and wanting to order a basket of french fries (frites) actually orders a basket of liver (le foie). How embarrassing (and totally disgusting!) would that be?!

One of my bucket list items awaiting a check mark (among many others) is to one day visit the city of love and lights, maybe even take a painting or cooking class there, perfecting my Picasso brush strokes and my Julia Child beef bourguignon. Come to think of it, I have actually been to France before. Twice in fact. The first time was when my family took a trip to Disney and made a pit-stop at Epcot and the second time was when I celebrated my 21st birthday in Las Vegas. Although both faux Frances did a pretty darn good job of replicating the food and culture and even the Eiffel Tower, I am going to take a wild guess and say the actual place is just a tad bit different. Bigger, better and even more beautiful than I could imagine! It will be quite some time before I can save up enough moolah and have the time to make that happen, but rest assured, that item will get crossed off my list.

The famous Louvre Art Museum, home to many pieces of art from the likes of Da Vinci, Decartes, Picasso and Rembrandt!

L'arc de Triomphe 🙂

There is nothing quite so picturesque as this 🙂

The beautiful and majestic Eiffel Tower. How amazing is that?!

C’est la vie 🙂

Question of the day:

Do you speak/want to learn how to speak a second (or third) language?

Besides French, I would also love to someday learn how to speak Italian and Mandarin.

Where is one place that you would love to travel to that you have never been?

Italy–the architecture, the history, the culture and the food (pizza and gelato? Yes please!)…definitely a must-see! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

