My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

Fall Fever

Mmm…you can smell it, you can see it, you can feel it in the air.

Fall is upon us my friends.

It's Fall y'all 🙂

Although the official start to my most favorite of seasons isn’t until next Friday, it feels like summer has said it’s goodbyes and just like Elvis, has left the building. Now don’t get me wrong, I love the three months out of the year where I can live in shorts, flip-flops and t-shirts, hanging poolside, going to endless baseball games and eating copious amounts of hot dogs and watermelon. There is just something about the introduction of the autumn season however that makes me smile and feel all warm and cozy inside, despite the fact that there is now a slight chill and crispness in the air.

Here are some of the reasons why I ‘Fall’ in love with the autumn season more and more every year…

1. Show me the Pumpkins!

Pumpkin Pie, Pumpkin candles, Pumpkin Spice Muffins, Pumpkin patches, Pumpkin bread, Pumpkin Lattes, Pumpkin carving. Call me Bubba Gump, or better yet, Bubba ‘Pump”, but I love me some pumpkins! Probably one of my all-time favorite gourds of all time, pumpkins are the pinnacle representation of the fall season. There is no better way to spend a sunny and cool autumn day than by hitting up a local pumpkin patch, going for a hay ride or taking a stroll (aka getting lost) through a corn maze and selecting your very own pumpkin to take home with you to enjoy.

2. Clothes call

One of my favorite parts of fall has got to be the closet swap out. After months of skin-bearing shorts, t-shirts, tanks and bikinis, it’s time to cover up with my favorite hoody, cozy sweater and comfy pair of jeans/sweats. The cooler temps outside are just right, not too cold yet to need heavy coats and jackets but just cool enough to pull out the sweatshirts and Levi’s.

3. Are you ready for some football?!

Bonified Cheesehead 🙂

Sadly, with fall comes the end of cheering on my Brewers to victory…at least until next March. Hakuna matata my friends because in place of the ‘Crew’ comes the ‘Pack’ and the Badgers. I love football season, not as much as baseball it’s true, but it’s still a touchdown of fun and excitement. I mean, what’s not to love about game-day parties, tail gating, yummy food, good friends, yummy food, intense-out-of-your-seat-with-anticipation games, yummy food, crazy fans, yummy food, Joel Madden commentary, tight pants, and did I mention yummy food? I have a feeling it’s going to be a great year WI football!

4. ‘Soup’er Suppers

Just like mamma used to make 🙂

Extra marshmallows please!

Warm and ooey and gooey and sooooo good!

As the temperatures drop, nothing warms me up better than filling my belly with warm, tasty and scrumdiddlyumptious comfort food. The warmer months are great for grilled burgers and brats, cool salads and sandwiches, ice cream (well, ice cream is good no matter what season we’re talking, let’s get that straight right away), fresh fruit and refreshing lemonade; they are bites that you tend to crave when it’s hot and sticky out that will satisfy your tummy and help keep you cool. As it gets chillier however, you, or at least I know I do, start to crave those warm and toasty kinds of foods again; grilled cheese, homemade soups and chili, ooey and gooey muffins and cookies, hot chocolate and apple pies and crisp, to name just a few. I look forward to this time of year when I can dust off my oven and stove and start cooking again. Well, attempt to cook at least. I am most definitely no Julia Child or Paula Dean but I am learning, one dish at a time.

5. A+ Aroma

I think M.C Hammer said it best…”You can’t smell this….candle time.” Fall is when I start to go bonkers for candles. I love filling my apartment with the smells and aromas of the autumn season. Plus, they’re just so purrty 🙂

6. Trick or Treat

Going old school on this one. That's me in the black get-up. Can you guess what I was?

Candy? Check. Costumes? Check. A night totally dedicated to feeling like a kid again? Check.

7. Cha-cha-cha-changes

Beautiful!

Simply stunning!

My absolute favorite thing about fall I would have to say would be the changing and falling of the leaves. I have been all over the country during this time of year and have been privy to many a changed leaf, but I still believe that Wisconsin has some of the most beautiful and picturesque falls around. It’s almost as if God took a paint brush and painted the gorgeous landscape himself, mixing together the most brilliant of oranges, reds, browns and golds.  It truly is breathtaking. Just when the leaves hit their peak color, they cascade off of the trees, sending them twirling and floating to the ground below. That is when the fun really begins. Most people think leaves are a pain in the bum, having to rake them or blow them off of their yards and walk ways. I tend to take a different approach. When I was a young girl (and to this day), I was the first one to volunteer to rake the yard. I loved gathering the leaves, working up a sweat to build and create the biggest and baddest leaf pile ever. Once it was complete, I took a running start and catapulted into leaf heaven. Sitting in my pile of mulch, surrounded by leaves of every color, shape and size, I would breath in the crisp smell, feel the cool and damp foliage against my arms and legs, and listen to the crunch and rustling of the pile as I moved around ever so slighty. It’s pretty darn awesome.

You see why a girl can’t help but ‘fall’ in love all over again?

Speaking of fall treats, the first muffins I made of the fall season have just finished baking up in the oven. Hate to up and run, but I am going to make like a tree, and leaf…I’ve got some serious eating to do 🙂

Top of the muffin to you 🙂

Have a great Sunday night guys!

Question of the day: What is your favorite part of fall?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

