My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

Wonder Woman

If you could have any super power, what would it be?

That is the question I asked myself as I walked home from a great day at the park. Today was a gorgeous September day and I wanted to take complete advantage of it. I absolutely love this time of year; the sun is out, the air is crisp, and the once vibrantly green leaves on the trees are just starting to turn beautiful shades of gold, red, orange and brown. Mmm how I love fall! I decided to embrace my inner 5-year-old and headed to a local park for some serious swing and monkey bar action. I don’t care how old you are, there is nothing more fun than pump-kicking your way into the clouds, the wind in your hair and cool metallic chain against your fingertips. As I sat on the swing, going higher and higher into the sky, nothing else seemed to matter. All of the worries, all of the stresses of the week, all of the pressure and fear just faded away. It was just me and the swing.

Well, it was just me, the swing, and the little boy swinging right beside me who was quite an avid fan of 20 questions and was the cutest thing that you ever did see. His name was Trevor, he was four and three-quarters years old (as he so proudly showed me by holding up four of his fingers), had a peanut butter and jelly sandwich with X-Treme cheddar Goldfish (if you’re going to eat Goldfish, go for the X-Treme!) on the side for lunch, and LOVED Spiderman. Thank goodness he told me he was a fan of the webby wonder because I would have never guessed, seeing as he had on a Spiderman t-shirt, shoes, and adorned a matching red cape. I might be wrong, but did the Spidey wear a cape?

Cape or no cape, Trevor really knew his stuff. I mean, really knew his stuff. It was almost as if I was sitting next to the one and only Stan Lee himself. He went on to describe, in detail, Spiderman’s powers (his super-spidey sense, his ability to climb and scale walls, and his super-human strength, agility and stamina), his nemesis’ (The Spot, Jackal, Wolverine, Dr. Strange and Elektra, to name a few), and what made him soooo cool (uh, everything).  I asked Trevor if he liked any other super heroes and he said that they were okay, but if he could pick any one superhero to emulate (well, not his words exactly), he would have to choose Spiderman, although he said that if he could have any super power, it would be the ability to become invisible (which is one thing that the Spidey can’t do).

Right before my new buddy Trevor jumped off his swing and made his way to his mom who was calling him over to get ready to leave, he turned, looked at me, and asked me that very same question: If you could have any super power, what would it be? It’s such a simple question really, but it took me aback and I had to actually think about it a little bit. I mean, who wouldn’t want the ability to sour above the clouds, flying high with nothing but the city lights below you? It would most definitely save time and money for airfare (and you wouldn’t have to go through the hassle of dealing with that pesky airport security ever again). Then there’s the ability to become invisible; you could go anywhere and do anything without having ever being seen (Brewers’ locker room, here I come!). You could also have super-human strength (would come in handy when trying to open pickle jars), super-human speed (anyone wanna race?), or be able to predict the future.

In some ways it would be nice to see what is in store a day, a week, or five years from now. Think of all the good you could do for people; the robberies you could stop or the fires you could prevent. However, in predicting the future, you also are privy to information and details that you may not necessarily want to find out. The great thing about life is not knowing what is going to come next, the day-to-day challenges and changes and experiences that you experience. Knowing the future would take away from the here and now. You would be so worried and/or focused about what was going to happen next that you would forget to live in the moment. There is only one person, one super-human force who really knows what is going to happen in each of our futures, and that is the big guy upstairs and I will happily leave that job for him and him alone to do.

Yes, flying and being invisible, the ability to lift a car with your pinky finger or race a speeding train would all be great, but the one super power that I would, if I could, take on would be the ability to overcome great fear. Fear to me is an enemy comparable to any superhero nemesis. It has the power to conform you, demobilize you, isolate you, and prevent you from going after and doing the things that you want and need to do in your life. It controls you and can take away your voice, your choice. Don’t get me wrong, a little fear is a good thing; it prevents us from doing silly things that could get us hurt and allows us to air with a side of necessary caution when needed. However, if we let fear overcome us to the extent that we have no say in what we do, the decisions me make, or the places we go, the dreams we deter and the opportunities we miss, it turns into the enemy. I don’t want to completely be get rid of fear, but instead would love to have the ability to respect fear, to acknowledge it, and to overcome it when it turns into something that prevents me from living this great and wonderful life.

I may not wear a cape or have a wicked cool latex costume. I may not be a superhero, but I think I can still find a way to incorporate this ‘power’ into my life. By trying new things, by going above and beyond my comfort zone every once in a while, by falling down and getting back up, slowly but surely fear will lose some of its power, its grip, its control.

I’d like to see Mr. Spiderman do that 😉

Question of the day: If you could have any superpower, what would it be and why?

P.S. Job update 101: The interview went GREAT!!!! Thank you oh so much to everyone who was root-tooting me on and for keeping me in their thoughts and prayers. It really means the world. I should hear back from them early next week sometime for one final interview. EXCITING!!! 🙂 Just another great example of how a lot of faith, a great deal of hope, and a lot of super-human fear-fighting strength goes along way!

P.P.S The super power to me that comes in a close second…I would LOVE to have the ability to eat as much ice cream as I wanted without getting sick or insta-brain freeze. Now how cool would that be?!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

