My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

Hey guys!

I hope you are all having a great Labor Day weekend! Labor Day has always signified to me the start of the fall season (my most favorite season for surely), although officially, we still have a few more weeks. This correlation probably always came from the fact that the day after Labor Day as a young girl meant once again catching (or running after, which was what I ended up doing the majority of the time–a sincere apology to my poor bus driver who was so patient and never once left me behind) the big yellow bus in the early AM’s, backpacks and protectors and of course, the ever-present and ever lovely homework. That’s right folks…it’s back to school time. As a youngster, I used to dread this holiday because of what was to follow. Summer was officially over. The three months of staying up late, pools, bike rides, cookouts, baseball games, ice cream runs and overall freedom from worry and responsibilities had come to an end.

Eventually I fell into the swing of things again, the patterns and routines that go hand-in-hand with each school year (aka my mom dragging my behind out of bed in the mornings to get ready for the day, crabby teachers, awesome teachers, friends, delicious cafeteria food, soccer practice and of course…the mounds and mounds of homework–I may or may not be a wee bit sarcastic in some of the aforementioned remarks).  Despite my complaining, I will admit for the most part, I secretly loved going back (don’t tell anyone, ok?).  There is just something about learning new things, applying and pushing yourself beyond where you thought your mind could go, failure and success, that makes my heart beat a bit faster and gets my blood pumping.  Having been out of school now for three years, I miss those day-to-day challenges, the stimulation of taking on new facts and information and the feeling of overcoming obstacles that were standing in my way. It kinda sorta maybe quite possibly makes me want to go back and get my master’s. And I just might. But that’s after I decide what exactly I what to get my Master’s in. And once I get a job to pay for me going back to school. So, it might be while down the road yet before anything happens, but it is definitely a pit stop along the way that I am looking forward to taking.

As for right now, I am trying to enjoy (keyword here being ‘trying’) the free time that I have been given. Do you remember me mentioning how I was in the process of working on not focusing too much on work and job hunting and the like? Trying to have a little more fun thrown into the everyday hustles and bustles? Well, I have kind of been slacking a bit. I know, I know. But I almost feel guilty if I am not doing something productive with my day. I’m a work in progress but I am doing better. Baby steps, baby steps.

Take this weekend for instance. I was sooooo excited to take a trip to the beach yesterday, spend a little time down by the lake, photo hunting, bike riding, maybe incorporate a little paddle boat action in there. Well, as I crawled out of bed ready to start my jam-packed day, I was greeted with roars of thunder and rain like you had never seen before, I am talking giant tears here. Even though I was a little bummed out that I couldn’t do what I had planned, I made the best of it. And you know what? I had a pretty awesome day despite the icky weather. I had a wicked marathon of THE best show ever, Friday Night Lights (if you’ve never seen the show, Net Flix or On Demand that baby right now! It will change your life. Okay, maybe not change your life, but it will definitely give you the warm fuzzies and an ‘Oh my gosh this is amazeballs’ feeling, my guarantee or your money back). I also spent some serious bonding time with a puzzle book that had been craving some serious attention; not working has really shown me what I didn’t necessarily have time to do when I was hitting the nine-to-five every day (like these super fun but pretty darn challenging puzzle books that I so love) and it has been kind of nice to have a breather for a bit. And if you’re wondering, I totally kicked those puzzle’s butts.

Call me Steve Urkel but these are SO MUCH FUN!!!

I SO got this. You're going down Escalator Puzzle (Ha. Going down. Escalator. Get it? Okay that was a bad joke. Funny, but bad.)

The best part of the day by far however were these little gems.

They're beautiful, aren't they?

I had been craving chocolate chip cookies something fierce for quite some time now so I decided to bring out the big guns and do a little damage.

Best damage I’ve incurred in a long time 🙂

Overall, it’s been a nice, relaxing and lazy weekend so far, despite the sudden nasty weather (which by the way was a repeat today). Every once in a while, I look forward to those rainy and cruddy days being thrown into the mix. It’s nice not to have to do anything and just take it easy. And that my friends is something that I can do.

I hope you all have a great Labor Day, rain or no rain!

Question of the day: When you were growing up, were you excited to go back to school or did you wish summer would last forever?

 

 

Comments on: "Rain on my Parade? Not Such a Bad Thing" (4)

  1. Hahahaha!! That. Is. Awesome! I was totally thinking that too lol. Thanks girl! 😉

  2. When you were growing up, were you excited to go back to school or did you wish summer would last forever?

    My last blog post would answer that haha! 😛

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

