My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

Couples. In pop-culture, in nature and in life, there have been many famous and favorite pairs that have surpassed the hands of time, making the ‘favorite lists’ of both young and old.

Yesterday as I was walking through the mall, doing some early Christmas shopping, a lot of window browsing, and little people watching, the idea of couples and pairs popped into my head. It could have been because everywhere I looked, everything and everyone I saw seemed to be surrounded by  another half, an equal and balancing counterpart. Some things just belong together:  the man dressed to the nines in a high-power business suit talking stocks and trades (or whatever high-power business suit wearing men talk about) in his bluetooth WHILE writing an email on his Blackberry (side note-not the best thing to do while crossing a busy downtown street if you don’t want to become a hood ornament), the mother of four kids chasing after her little rugrats, diaper bag the size of Texas in one hand, decked-out stroller in the other and an oh so cute elderly couple walking hand-in-hand while casually strolling through the stores, still very much in love after all of their years together.

Yep. Some things just go together like, well, peanut butter and jelly, a Nicholas Sparks book and a box of tissues, a brisk December day and a nice cup of hot cocoa.

 This whole idea of couples and pairs got to think: what are some of my favorite couplings of all time? Are there any pairings that don’t go together so well? Is two really better than one? Below is a list of some of my favorite pairs of all time as well as those which I think are better off alone than together. I also thought it would fun to include those couples and/or pairs that may not be so common but that I find to be pretty darn amazing (and which I double-dog dare you to give a try).

My favorite pairs of all time:

Milk and cookies

The Milwaukee Brewers and I (We’re kind of a package deal)

Late night and Letterman

Charlie Brown and Snoopy

Long runs and an i-pod

Rainy days and a good book (Or a sunny day. Or a windy day.Or a snowy day. Or, well, basically any kind of day and a good book)

Movies and popcorn

Love and the feel-weak-in-the-knees-homerun-butterflies-in-your-stomach feeling

Christmas and the magical giving spirit

Ben & Jerry

Photographs and irreplaceable/long-lasting memories

Jeans and a t-shirt

Best friends and belly laughs

Green and Gold

Family/friends and bear hugs

Camping and s’mores/puggie pies

Prayer and possibility

Pairs that are better off single:

The Cubbs and/or Cardinals and I (also excepted here: any team OTHER than the Brewers and I, but especially the aforementioned teams)

Donald Trump and a good hairpiece–Talk about fly-aways 😉

Pizza and ranch dressing (blek!)

Late nights and early mornings

Dogs and sweaters (or booties, jackets, hats and/or any other piece of clothing you’d pull out of your own closet)

Meat and loaf (meatloaf-who was the wacky person who thought making meat into a loaf was a genius idea? In my opinion, the only thing that should be in loaf-form is bread…sorry mom)

Socks and sandals

Justin Bieber and multi-platinum records. Awards.CD’s. A nail polish line?

Out-of-the-shoe-box pairs I swear by (that you have to try!)

High tops and knee socks

Paperclips and jewelry

Peanut butter and pickle sandwiches

Scrambled eggs and maple syrup (I know what you’re thinking but it is soooooo good!)

Ice cream and saltine crackers (a staple my great-grandpa swore by…the epitamy of salty and sweet!)

I guess in some cases, two is really better than one. And one ‘two’ that is most definitely better than one…cookie dough and ice cream. Speaking of which, I better get going because I have a pint of the scrumptious stuff sitting on the counter and it’s calling my name  🙂

I hope you have a great rest of your first day of December!

Question of the day: What are some of your favorite pairs?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

