My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

The End of An Era

Well guys, the end is finally here. Is is a moment that I have waited in anticipation for, yet at the same time, wished it would never come.

After 10 amazing years, one of the most remarkable and  memorable books of our generation is closing its final chapter with the very last installment of its film franchise, ‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part II’ which opens tonight at midnight.

As most of you out there can probably agree, I am getting a little faklempt just thinking about it. I practically grew up with this magical (in more ways than one) book series. Afterall, I was only 13 when J.K. Rowling first introduced us to the Harry, Ron, Hermonie, Professor Dumbledore, Snape, Voldemort (oops, sorry, He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named) and the rest of the illuminating characters she brought to life in Harry Potter. Who knew that a simple story about witches and wizards would grow to become one of the worlds most influential books of all time?

Miss Rowling truly created something out-of-this-world. She gave readers of all ages a reason to become excited about reading again. When once the major pass time of kids everywhere consisted of Mario Cart  matches and endless episodes of Sponge Bob, it had changed to sitting, and sometimes even with, dare I say it, their parents, on their comfy bean bag chair, expanding their minds and imaginations with a great page-turner. Rowling managed to pull off this feat by combining the classic themes of ‘Good vs Evil’ with characters and themes that everyone can relate to. I can’t speak for everyone, but there is, of course, the secret wish that you are special, that you are different, that you are destined for more than an ordinary life — and Harry and his friends are. If anything, these books send a  message of the importance of friendship, love, determination, loyalty and that no matter who you are or where you come from, you can do great things.

My Harry Potter Collection has got its own bookshelf 🙂

Over the years, the excitement of a new book or film release has hit fans around the world, creating pandemonium and excitement beyond belief. I myself experienced and participated in such wonderful chaos….I have waited in lines that seemed to go on for miles to purchase a copy of a newly released book, hot off the press. I have attended Barnes & Nobles Potter release parties, complete with costumes, cupcakes, games and readings. It was here that I came in contact with my very first Berti Bott’s Ever Flavor Jelly Bean (and it is true what they say…DO NOT eat the vomit and/or boogar beans…they really taste as titled…ick!. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve stayed up till midnight to see the premiere screening of the films, have read and re-read each installment of the books and have held Potter marathons (complete with homemade butterbeer). I even made the pilgrimage down to every Harry Potter fan’s mecca…Universial Theme Park’s new Wizarding World of Harry Potter (which is amazeballs btw! Everyone should make a trip at least once in their life to see it, fan or no fan (if you weren’t a fan before, you will surely become one after leaving this park). Every little detail was taken into consideration when creating this one-of-a-kind park, everything from the food to the costumes to the rides and stores; It was literally like walking into the books or onto the set of the films…incredible! I am already planning my return trip 🙂

Hogsmeade Village was truly magical!

All Aboard the Hogwarts Express!

 

Hagrid's hut. I was hoping to catch a glimpse of the big guy but no such luck.

 

The castle was my favorite part! They did an outstanding job of designing it to resemble the infamous wizarding school 🙂

 

Can I interest anyone in a butterbeer? SOOO yummy 🙂

 

Those darn Bertie Bott's Every Flavor Beans (and when they say every flavor, they mean every flavor). Great when you are lucky enough to land a Cherry or Pina Colada but not so much when you pick out Dirt or Vomit. Gross!

 

Suffice it to say, I am a fan.Yes, I am 24 and I am a Harry Potter fan (atic) but can you blame me? If you haven’t read these books before, HOW COME?! HAVE YOU LIVED ON THE MOON FOR THE PAST 10 YEARS? Sorry, just got a bit excited there for a moment. But seriously. Go. Go right now. Stop reading this awesome blog and run out to your library or local bookstore and get a copy of every book in the series, starting with HP and the Sorcerer’s Stone (the first in the series) and not stopping till you turn the last page of HP and the Deathly Hallows (the last). You will forever be changed. Plus, you will want to catch up so that you are ready for the last film opening up tonight. At midnight. Did I mention that the last movie was opening tonight? Sorry, I guess I am just a bit excited.

For those of you who are Potter fans, I am sure that you have stumbled upon these websites before. If not, check them out. They are pretty cool (and a great way to pass a very looooooooonnggggg day at work–not that I do that but…). J.K. Rowling also just recently announced that coming next fall, there will an even bigger and better site all-things Harry Potter called Pottermore which I am SO…already a member of haha.

http://www.pottermore.com/

http://www.mugglenet.com/

http://www.the-leaky-cauldron.org/

http://www.hp-lexicon.org/index-2.html

To commemorate this very bittersweet occasion, look for my next post where I will be sharing with you all my favorite Harry Potter moments. It is something muggles and non-muggles alike will enjoy 🙂

Now if only I knew how to disapparate…

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

