My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

Zest for the ‘Fest’

It is going to be a grand day, my friends.

Why you ask?

Well, for starters, I woke up this morning to the sun smiling down on the great city of Milwaukee, not a cloud in sight; something that has rarely happened this summer. I have to say, I’ve grown somewhat accustomed to walking into work looking and feeling like a wet dog everyday for the past umpteenth week (or weeks), but I am welcoming this lovely change with open arms for surely! Isn’t Milwaukee pretty in the summa time? I absolutely love it!

 

Secondly, I made a pit-stop at Starbucks for a refreshing smoothie to start my day and walked out with a free cake pop! Cake=awesome. Cake pops=super awesome. FREE cake pops= Super-D-Duper awesome! I had been wanting to give those delicious little bites for some time now so I was pumped when the cute but way-too-hyper-at-8am in the morning-to-not-have-had-20-coffees-already guy behind the counter said they were giving away their free mini desserts for customers who stopped in before 8am (I was just at the cutting point). I had the white cake pop with white chocolate icing and boy was it good. So good in fact, I bought three more for breakfast. Cake is the next Wheaties, after all 😉

And finally, the main reason why ‘I’ve gotta feeling, that today’s gonna be a good day’ (thank you, Black Eyed Peas)…Summerfest starts today!!!

For those of you who may be unfamiliar with Summerfest, have never been, or want to know more about it…here’s the 4-1-1 on all things ‘Fest’.

Summerfest, also known as ‘The Big Gig’, is the world’s largest musical festival (Guinness Book approved) held in Milwaukee, WI every year. It usually takes place starting late June and running till early July. It lasts 11 days, is made up of 11 main stages and hosts over 700 bands a year. One of the best things about the ‘Fest’ is that with a paid admission ticket, you can see as many bands as you want during the day/night with the exception of the headliners who perform at the Marcus amphitheater; those tickets are sold separately however if you get there early, you might be lucky enough to grab one of the free lawn seats right outside. Over the years, such famous musicians have performed at Summerfest including but definitely not limited to: Johnny Cash, The Grateful Dead, Paul Simon, Sting, Cher, Metalica, Pearl Jam, Dave Matthews Band, Prince, Stevie Wonder, and Britney Spears (oops, she’s doing it again, making her second appearance this year that is–I hate to admit it but I would love to see her–rumor has it that girl can put on one heck of a concert). Besides the great music, Summerfest is known for its smorgesboard of food. If fried food is your thing, welcome to paradise. They offer everything from fried Oreos and Snickers bars to pickles and even butter. Yes, I said butter. Paula Deen would be proud.

If you’ve never been to Summerfest and are thinking of going, DO IT. Even if you’re not really into the whole music scene, there is so much more that you will enjoy. Take a relaxing ride on the gondolier overlooking the park, eat a batch of freshly fried cheese curds, so gooey and good you’ll think you’ve died and gone to cheese heaven or simply people watch; Summerfest brings out the crazy, outlandish, and simply fun music fans from all over the world! Last year at a Scorpion concert, I saw a gaggle of grandmas in red leather hot pants and stilettos, tup-thumping their replaced hips to the beat. Now that is something you don’t see everyday.

If you want to know more about Summerfest (the dates, the bands, the cost of tickets, etc.), please check out the official website here:

http://www.summerfest.com/flash2011/1.cfm?codeString=home#app=28&8b6e-selectedIndex=0&71fe-selectedIndex=1

In honor of today being the kick-off to Summerfest, the ultimate celebration of summer music, I thought I would share some of my top summer jams to get you in the beach-bummin’, crowd-surfin’, road-trippin’ mood, plus some honorable mentions and some not so honorable ones 🙂

My top summer tunes I have on replay:

1. “Wannabe”-Spice Girls”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gJLIiF15wjQ

2. All the Small Things” Blink-182″

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Ht5RZpzPqw

3. “Baby Got Back” -Sir Mix-A-Lot”Walking on Sunshine”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kY84MRnxVzo&feature=fvsr

4. “I Like It”-Enrique Eglesias

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9X0QzUdjhIg

5. “Walking on Sunshine” -Katrina and the Waves

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iPUmE-tne5U

6. “All Star”-Smashmouth

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L_jWHffIx5E

7.”All Summer Long” -Kid Rock

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uwIGZLjugKA

8. “Summertime”-DJ Jazzy Fresh and The Fresh Prince

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kr0tTbTbmVA

9. “Have a Nice Day” Bon JoviSummer of ’69”-Bryan Adams

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uCg2BoKiuOM

10.”Summer of ’69”-Bryan Adams 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9f06QZCVUHg

Honorable mentions: Songs that are too good to pass up…

1.  “Time of Your Life”-Green Day

2.”Summer Nights” -Olivia Newton-John and John Travolta

3. “I Gotta Feeling”- Black Eyed Peas

4. “Wipeout” by the Safaris

5. “California Girls” by the Beach Boys

 

Dishonorable Mentions: Jams I wish I didn’t have stuck in my head…

1. “Barbie Girl”-Aqua

2.”Thong Song”-Sisqo

3. “California Gurls-Katy Perry

4. “Summer Girls”- LFO

5. “All I Wanna Do”- Sheryl Crow

 Now that you have you’re i-pod list ready, you can start jammin’ your way into summer and some rockin’ festivals like Summerfest. I promise I’ll save a seat for you (not so sure I can say the same for the fried Oreos…those are all mine!)

Have a happy Wednesday everyone!

Question of the day: What are some of your favorite songs to jam to in the summer?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

