My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

Lessons From My Dad

No burrito is too large. Or cheesy.

Stand up for what you believe in, even if it means you stand alone.

 Give of yourself. My dad always manages to find time to help others and in doing so has taught me, or rather shown me, what selflessness truly means.

Pee before you leave.

Don’t be afraid to throw like a boy.

Laugh at yourself. My dad taught me the importance of being goofy. He’s never afraid to be silly or laugh at himself. After all, it’s that sense of humor that makes life a lot more fun!

Develop a good golf swing. 

The secret to grilling a good steak is all in the charcoal.

 Be punny. One of my favorite things I’ve learned from my dad is the art of a well-placed pun. He taught me that no matter the situation, there’s always room for a joke — the cornier, the better.

Have a little faith.

Don’t be afraid to talk to strangers. I’ve watched my dad make countless connections through casual, friendly chitchat throughout his life. As a teen I would cringe as he struck up conversations with complete strangers — something I was too shy to do. However, I saw time and time again how just a 5-minute talk could turn into new and valuable knowledge, an entertaining invitation, or even a lifelong friendship.

 If you happen to pass wind, blame it on the dog.

There is no secret to success. When I was 18, I asked my dad, “What’s the secret to success?” His answer was far simpler than I expected. “There is no secret,” he said. “Success is equal parts hard work and accountability.” Now that I’m an adult, I understand how he truly embodied this ideology. He was always a blood, sweat, and tears sort of man who could always be counted on. There are no secret paths or easy roads to success, but hard work and accountability are helping me become the woman I want to be.

 Be kind.

Enjoy the ride. The most important thing that I learned from my dad was not to take myself too seriously. No matter what he and I are talking about or what we are doing, laughter is always involved. So many people spend so much time focused on trying to be perfect instead of just relaxing and enjoying the little moments that make life so special. He also taught me how to ignore the “what ifs”. What’s the point of life if you can’t have a little fun?

Never let go of the clutch too soon.

Never give up. My Dad taught me not to quit when it gets tough, and that even if people say you can’t do something, the only one who decides that is you!

Love with your whole heart.

Thank you dad for passing on your wisdom and valuable life lessons, for always being there for me, for believing in me, for cheering me on, for making me laugh and for making me the person I am today. I love you oh so much!

This Father’s Day, be sure to give your dad a hug, maybe toss the ball around in the backyard or go fishing. Whatever you decide to do, let him know how much you appreciate all that he has done for you!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

