My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

Happy birthday to me 🙂

Goodness gracious, me oh my how time flies! I can’t believe that I am already the big 2-4! First and foremost, I want to thank all of my friends and family (the best in the world, I might add) for making it such a great day. All of your messages and kind words couldn’t have made for a better present (although…throwing in some chocolate wouldn’t have hurt…just saying). It was extra special because I woke up to this lovely sight….

Can you believe it? Sadly, I can. This beautiful spring day got me thinking about past birthdays of yesteryear where other weird weather happenings occurred (and believe you me, it runs the full spectrum!). The last time it snowed (yes…today wasn’t the only time this has happened) was when I turned six. My little heart was crushed when my all-out mini-golf extravaganza (complete with Pink Power Ranger cupcakes and goody bags) had to be swapped at the last-minute to the bowling ally due to six inches of the fluffy white stuff haven fallen. I still to this day haven’t attempted another putt-putt party for fear of another disastrous cancellation (oh, the scars!).

On my 12th birthday, there was record April heat…98 degree record heat! This was the year I was fascinated by pirates and treasure maps (and can you blame me? Who didn’t or still doesn’t want to be a pirate, especially if you get to hang out with swash-buckling cohorts like one mister Johnny dep and Orlando Bloom?). I had a balls-to-the-wall scavenger hunt planned at one of the local parks. It wasn’t too terribly bad except for the fact that most of the ‘buried treasure’ consisted of mini Snickers, Kit Kats, and Peanut Butter Cups which all turned into mush under the hot, hot sun. And don’t even remind me of the ice cream cake snafu. The poor thing didn’t stand a chance.When I turned 18, there was a freak tornado outbreak. We were at my little sister’s spring musical at her elementary school when the sky turned a nasty shade of green and we were subjected to the blaring wales of the tornado sirens. I felt so bad for the violinists and flutists on stage at the time who were no match for the ear-numbing noise (but they were the biggest little troopers that I ever did see–they played their hearts out, going down with the ship if you will–that is until we were all told to take precautionary safety measures and head to a ‘safe place’). We ended up spending about two hours in the crowded boys locker room, waiting out the storm. For those of you who don’t know me, I have a deathly fear of tornadoes. DEATHLY! I have never actually been in one (thank goodness), but have come pretty close a number of times. That night, I think I was more scared than the third graders who sat beside me in the sweaty, smelly locker cubicle. I remember there was the cutest little boy that you ever did meet who crouched next to me on the cold, tile floor. I think he could sense how scared I really was (the fact that my head was in my hands and I was shaking like a salt shaker probably was a straight giveaway). He looked up at me with the sweetest eyes and said to me with a sincerity that I will never forget, “Don’t be afraid. It’s going to be okay. Wanna play tic-tac-toe?” We proceeded to play six rousing games, he kicking my bum in all of them (err…letting him win was the least I could do after what he did for me).When I turned 21, there was another weird weather event, probably one of the most strange because it is something that never, ever happens in this neck of the woods. I was heading down to Milwaukee (I was going to school up in Menomonie at the time) to meet  my mom and aunt for a girls’ weekend. My mom was driving up from GA and stayed the night in northern IL. The morning she was set to leave for Miltown, she was awoken by an earthquake. Yes, an earthquake. Thankfully it wasn’t very big and no one was hurt, but it shook up everyone who was involved(pun intended). It also made for quite the story to tell.

Oh yes, I have had some very interesting birthdays. But you know what, no matter how crazy or ridiculous they got, they were great and I wouldn’t have traded them for anything in the world.  I was lucky enough to be surrounded by great friends and family who were right there beside me in all of the craziness. Sometimes, you just have to laugh, take hold of the little things that make you smile and appreciate what is  happening before you. My putt-putt party may have been snowed out but I went on that day to bowl the game of my life, with a pretty, glittery ball no less. We fought against the beaming sun that day in the park but we ended up having an epic water balloon fight that will go down in the history books. Tornados come and go but making lasting friendships with a tic-tac-toe novis last forever. An earthquake might shake you up a bit, but it’s got nothing on the shaking that went into my very first legal martini (which I so graciously took one sip of and declared alcohol to be DISGUSTING! Blech!).

I guess the point of all of this is to not focus on what may be going wrong with a situation, but on what is going right instead. I sincerely look forward to another 24, 48, 80 years of note-worthy and epic birthdays, no matter what the weatherman’s forecasts may  be.

Now if you excuse me, I am going to sink my teeth into an unmelted and too-good-for-words piece of ice cream cake (the positive side to it being cold out…solid cake preservation 🙂 )

Question of the day: What is one of your more memorable crazy birthdays?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

