My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

Spin City

“I want to ride my BICYCLE, I want to ride my bike…”

Seemed only fitting  😉

Have any of you ever taken a spin class? If not, let me tell you, it’s an experience…

Yesterday, I decided to wake up at the crack of dawn, albeit, before the crack of dawn, to join some of my friends for a spin class. I had received a free weeks pass at a gym a few blocks from work. I had always wanted to try it out; I thought it would be a lot of fun and really challenging–something I’m always up for. If Kelly Ripa can do it, so can I, right? Plus, we were all going  to grab breakfast afterwards and anyone who knows me knows that I could never turn down free food.

When we got there, we were told that we could either buy spin shoes (who knew that there were special shoes just for spin class) or rent them. I decided to rent them because I didn’t want to fork over $40 (even though they were so cute…think bowling shoes on acid…that can serve as moon shoes too…oh yeah baby, they were that hot!). Speaking of bowling and shoes and bowling and all matters of rented footwear, I never understood the whole concept of ‘renting’ shoes. I try not to think about it too much because the actual idea of wearing a pair of sneakers that someone else had just had their smelly, nasty, grody toes in is so terribly gross. I wonder what people from other countries think when they go bowling for the first time here. “They have shoes, yet they choose to pay to wear another pair that others have worn/sweated in, are usually too big or two small for their feet resulting in major slippage or blisters, and are so bright, they could direct air traffic.” Yupp, that’s about it.After we got decked out in our spiffy shoes, we were asked if we brought water with us. I usually bring a water bottle with me to the gym, but it must have slipped my mind this morning (I had a hard enough time remembering to put on matching socks let alone remember to grab aqua for myself–come to think of it, I wore one Nike sock and one Adidas…oops). The lady recommend we buy a certain water bottle that was sold there at the gym. I wanted to go for the el-cheapo $.99 plastic bottle per usual but she highly suggested the nippled bottle for a staggering $2.99 (yes I said $2.99 for water and yes I said nippled). I followed suit with the rest of my cohorts and bought the fancy bottle (I was so glad I did because when you are riding, it is almost impossible to lift your hands off the bike handles, let alone try to raise and tip back a bottle of water–nippled water bottles–I think I’m a fan).We got there just in time to grab our bikes and get ready for the class to start. The reason why we had to get special shoes was because we actually got strapped onto our bike. Strapped. As in can’t get off-stuck-glued-help me Lord-here we go strapped. This in itself made me kind of  nervous. Now if you’ve never been to a spinning class  before, let me set the scene for you…

Imagine a whole bunch of exercise bikes lined up inside a studio. Riders are on each one, spinning the pedals at a rapid pace. The lights are turned down, pumped up music fills the air, and a way-too peppy instructor with a headset sits atop a lead bike, calling out commands.

“Climb out of the saddle,” she barks at the class. “Big hill coming!” I can’t tell you how many times I wanted to smack that lady (which could constitute as part of  my workout I suppose).

The riders rise as one, pedals spinning faster as they grimace with exertion, sweat dripping off their bodies.

This is what I was witnessing. In all fairness, I was having a pretty good time through most of the class. I LOVED the tunage that they played (and am considering going back just to get the list to put on my i-tunes) and the flashing lights and real scene graphics were so cool–it looked like you were actually riding in San Fransisco up the winding hills or through the streets of New York. About 2/3 of the way through the 45 minute class however, that all changed. First of all, I was sweating like a pig. Seriously, it was not pretty. I was sweating in places I didn’t think people could sweat. Sweat tears were dripping down my face and into my eyes, making it hard to see. To add to this loveliness, I had to pee. Bad. I guess that water rent right through  me because I couldn’t peddle another step. I trid getting off the bike but forgot I was strapped in. I was trying my darndest to get free from the bike but couldn’t for the life of me figure out how it was done. I must have looked like I was in need of some assistance because Drill Sergant Sue, the class instructor/cheerleader Barbie actually got off her bike and came over to help. How embarrassing. And to make matter worse, all she did was simply lift my feet back and up an inch and I was off the bike. I acted very cool and collected on my way out of the studio, but once I hit the hallway, I ran like the wind to the nearest bathroom (which was clear across the gym…have you ever tried running when your bladder is about to explode? Not an easy task or a graceful one at that).

Once I got back, I was lighter and ready to tackle the last few minutes of riding (which was a doosy…up down, up down, peddle peddle peddle, up down, up down, SPRINT! I thought my legs and butt were literally going to fall off, right then and there). I finished strong though and actually had a pretty good time. Take that, miss Ripa! I too am a spin masta…okay,  maybe that’s going too far, but I did have fun and survived…my goals for the class). 

In the end, I think I will give spinning another shot (once I regain feeling in my legs and butt that is). If I were to offer any words of advice for those who are considering trying out a class for yourself:

Wear light and loose clothing.

Get to class a bit early so you can get settled.

Go with the nipple.

And for goodness sakes…pee beforehand!

But the best part of the class by far…

Now this I would do again (and again and again and again)  🙂

Question of the day? Did you ever have an embarrassing gym incident happen to you?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

