My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

A Dog’s Life

Anybody who knows me knows that I love my four-legged and furry friends. Growing up, I always had a dog to play with, cuddle with, share my secrets with and give my brussel sprouts to under the table. There is just something about the bond between a dog and its owner that you cannot describe. It runs deeper than a friendship; it is an unspoken pact, an understanding of one another, a love so true and pure that nothing could come between it.

I love that I moved into a new city and started the next exciting chapter in my life, but one of the things that I dearly miss everyday is being greeted/hugged/slobbered/followed/snuggled by my pup Thunder. I had to make the difficult choice to leave him with my parents and although I know he has a great home, I still feel like part of me is missing. Thunder, like all dogs, really become part of the family and it’s hard when you can’t see them as often as you would like. I am hoping though that once I get settled, I will eventually get my own furry roommate, possibly a rescue dog or one from the humane society.

Thinking about my beloved pups (and of dogs in general) got me to think about all of the valuable life lessons that they have taught me and shared with me along the way. People, it’s true, can teach dogs many a trick, but what some may not know is how much a person can learn from a dog. Dogs are full of life; they have a carefree attitude, believe in the notion of possibility and are fully trusting and loyal. They don’t take life for granted and live with a zest for life.

Here are some lessons from our furry friends that we could all start to incorporate into our daily lives, no bones about it!

Sharing is caring.

Fight for what you believe in.

Get all gussied up every once in a while. (My cutie-pa-tutie pup Thunder in his Christmas best.)

Laugh every day.

Its okay to eat ice cream every once in a while, really.

Smile like you mean it.

Play! Who knew Thunder was the next David Beckham?

Relax and take a load off. My very first dog Metoo (special name for the most special of dogs).

A kiss makes everything better (although next time remind me to give him a tic-tac).

Don’t be afraid to jump into the unknown.

Don’t be scared to look silly.

Naps are your friend (my friend Diana’s pooch Wembley knows how it’s done).

Remember to say please and thank you (couldn’t you just eat Thunder up as a puppy).

You might have to dig yourself out of a hole every once in a while. And that’s okay. (Metoo’s brother Shadow; a great pal, superb digger and an even better climber of fences–I’d love to share some of the crazy stories this fella got himself into).

Stay active.

Learn something new everyday.

I think I am going to start taking some of this advice right now, starting with a nap and a bowl of ice cream…err after I learn something new at work and go for an active run that is 🙂

Question of the day: What have you learned most from your dog or pet?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

