My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

SOCK it to Me

IIITTT’SSSS FFFRRIIIDDAAYYY!!!

Not that I’m excited or anything.

Goodness am I glad the weekend is just a few short hours away. For some reason this week seemed to go on. And on. And on. I think it was because winter decided to rear it’s ugly head again, bringing with it a hot mess (or should I say cold mess) of nasty weather including, but not limited to: snow, slush, sleet, freezing rain and chilly temps. I guess that goes to show that in Wisconsin, you never can fully put away your boots and mittens until maybe June.

On the brighter side of things, I am rocking an amazeballs pair of socks today! TMNT baby! I made this incredible find at the dollar store last weekend and couldn’t pass them up. Gosh I used to LIVE, EAT and BREATH these guys. I had all the VHS tapes, the live action ones with real people playing the roles of the main characters. Do you remember those? They were the schiznit, basically. I watched them religiously–I’m talking know and recite every line by heart! I remember always wanting to emulate  April because she got to hang out with the funky bunch and eat pizza every day, although she did seem to need rescuing an awful lot. She couldn’t go one day without being kidnapped or taken hostage by creepy dudes. Me thinkst that girl should have found another day job.

But my obsession did not stop there. Oh no. I also had a bed comforter and matching pillow cases, a lunch box and backpack, AND a stuffed animal version of Leonardo (he was my favorite of all the gang; not only was he smart and funny, but he had a sensitive side to him–as turtles go. Hey, I was five. No judgement. Okay, I realize how rediculous this sounds. On second thought, judge away). There is just something so comforting about these green guys; it takes me back to my childhood filled with lazy Saturdays, waking up at the crack of dawn to watch cartoons in my footy pj’s while eating strawberry pop-tarts and scrambled eggs with maple syrup (yes I said scrambled eggs with syrup and don’t hate until you’ve tried it…it’s D-LISH!). It’s amazing how the simple things can mean so much. 

And on that note, I wish you all a fantabulous Friday afternoon!

Cowabunga, dude!

Question to ponder: What was your favorite childhood cartoon or toy?

Comments on: "SOCK it to Me" (1)

  1. Can I simply say what a relief to search out somebody who truly is aware of what theyre talking about on the internet. You definitely know how one can convey a problem to mild and make it important. Extra folks have to read this and perceive this side of the story. I cant consider youre not more in style because you undoubtedly have the gift.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

