My Awesomely Random Life (and Everything in Between)

Hey friends!

Happiest Friday to you all!

I don’t know about you, but I’m so very happyexcitedsuperduperpumpedandecstatic that it’s the weekend! I tell ya, I’m not used to this whole working, 8-5 thang. And before you go all “that’s what being an adult is like, Wendi” and “they don’t call work a 4-letter word for nothing” on me, I know.

I know, I know, I know.

The good news is I am actually starting to get the hang of my new job; three-weeks in and already I’m getting praise from my boss which is a pretty [insert another 4-letter word here] amazing feeling. And I am starting to enjoy what I do, which is the most important thing.

Did I even tell you guys about my new job yet?

My brain has been having a lot of shortages (or should I say more than usual) as of late so I do apologize if I left you in the dark. I am working at a company called Noel-Levitz, right in the heart of the Denver Tech Center. NL is a higher education consulting firm, which in laymen’s terms means they do research for universities all over the country, helping them get an idea of who their current students are, who their prospective students might be, and how to create the best learning and working environment for both the students and the staff. I get to wear my (fabulous if I do say so myself) nerd hat all day and conduct research, run analysis, and talk with some of the biggest and brightest schools in the U.S.

It’s pretty great.

Plus the people I work with are really, REALLY nice. Which, if anyone of you have worked in an office (or any real professional job environment) know, makes ALL the difference in the world! Although, just between you and me, there is a lady in the office directly across from me who insists on eating a tuna sandwich EVERY fishing DAY. I love her to death, I do. But I think it’s time I had a tuna-intervention. #Gross.

But enough about my job….

Let’s get to the real reason why I am so happyexcitedsuperduperpumpedandecstatic that it’s finally the weekend…

I’M MOVING INTO MY NEW APARTMENT TOMORROW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

For the past month or so, I’ve been staying at my aunt and uncle’s house, giving me time to get settled and used to the area. Moving to a new state and basically starting from scratch is terribly awesome but also a little daunting at first. Having family has definitely made the transition a lot easier. Don’t get me wrong; I have absolutely LOVED spending time with them and am so very grateful that they allowed me to crash their living space for a few weeks, BUT I am so frogging excited to have a place to call my own, my bachelorette pad, my crib (MTV, if you’re reading this and you’re still producing that wickedly addictive but ridiculous hit show from the late 90’s, get at a girl–one can never have too much pimping. Yep, definitely just realized how bad that sounded).

For what seems like forever, I’ve really been living in a sort of limbo; not really sure where I was going to end up due to the not-having-a-job-thing-but-on-the-constant-search, half-living out of a suitcase, half-not. It will be so nice to settle into a routine, decorate, make friends with my local produce guy, maybe join a kickball league? Who knows what I’ll do, but the thing of it is, the options are there for my taking! Moving to Denver was by far one of the craziest things that I have ever done; I didn’t have a job, no real clue as to what I would be doing once I got here, and there were no real guarantees which if you know me, are ALL things I hold near and dear to my ticker. I like having a concrete plan, a set goal, a way of knowing that everything is going to work out in the end.

Packing up my VW-Bug with just some clothes and an over-abundance of books, I made the solo trip across the country and haven’t looked back since.

Yes, moving to Denver was probably one of the craziest things I have ever done, but you know what? It was probably one of the BEST things I have ever done. Sometimes you have to throw a little caution to the wind, take a chance, and rely on the faith that in the end, everything will be OK.

Speaking of having faith, that is something I most definitely will have to have when I try to attempt to put together my furniture tomorrow.

Yeahhhhh…this should be interesting.

Have a great rest of your Friday my peeps and an even better weekend!

Comments on: "Moving On Up to the East Side" (5)

  1. Exciting news! :)
    Glad things are going well for you.
    It’s so nice that you had someone there to stay with to get to know the area a bit.
    It’s nice to have a bit of familiarity when so much is so new.
    I had no idea that you had a VW-Bug. I can so see that as a Wendi type car.

    Thought about you the other day. I’m going to be chaperoning one of my daughter’s field trips in a couple of weeks. And – one of our stops will be Miller Park.

    Happy Friday & Happy Weekend :)

    • Thanks so much, miss Rosy! My Brewtus is definitely the only car I can ses myself in haha. Speaking of Brewtus…YOU ARE GOING TO MILLER PARK?!?!?!?! How amazing is that!!!! I’m actually flying up this Friday to attend the one, the only…OPENING DAY!!! Not that I’m excited or anything ;)

      Hope you’re doing well, hun!

  2. This sounds awesome, and you’re super brave. I don’t know if I could just up and move to a new place. Is Denver as great as I hear? I have two friends that just moved there this last year, and it sounds amazing. I also hear the bar / restaurant scene is fantastic. I guess this is long way of saying I’m jealous.

    P.S. – I’m glad you brought a bunch of books. That’s what I would’ve done too.

    • Awe shucks! Thanks, Andrew! Denver is ahhhmazing! I seriously have to pinch myself every morning when I wake up and get to stare out at the beautiful mountains in my window. You’ve got the best of both worlds: a hopping bar/restaurant scene in the heart of the city, plus the majestic and serene escape to the mountains and numerous parks, hiking/biking trails, and other outdoorsy shtuff. I’d love to show you around if you ever come visit :)

      P.S. I’d take my books over furniture any day. Plus, I’ve got enough that I could actually just stack them all up and create make-shift shelves and tables haha.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 400 other followers

